Reveillon Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I was asked by my Aunt to find a recipe for tourtiere, so I came to allrecipes and found htis one. She said this is EXACTLY what she remembers tourtiere to be! This is an excellent recipe and the only thing she said she would change, now having tried the recipe is for her own personal taste she would cut the cinnaomn by half. She made it for my Uncle and he loved it too! He said his mom used to make it when he was little. SO anyone out there sooking for an authentic version of reviellon tourtiere pie..... Thisis the recipe for you! EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My husband took one bite and said, "Mmmmm, this is AWESOME!" It was the first tourtiere he'd ever eaten. I did have to use fresh savory because I did not have dried, reduced the garlic to on clove (because it was huge). I also used less only a generous 1/2t. of cinnamon and a 1/4t. of clove. I used a 12 oz. box of fresh mushrooms and sliced them very thin. I did not have fresh bread crumbs so I substituted instant mashed potato flakes, stirring after each addition until the meat mixture was lightly bound. The flavor and fragrance of this pie is seductive. It makes an impressive (and easy to prepare)party dish. We will defintely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I am always looking for some traditional recipes to make for the holidays and I am definately adding this one for Christmas. My family loved it! I serve it with a side of Mac & Cheese or mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This was really fantastic, and exactly like I remembered tourtiere from when I had it before. I made a few substitutions based on what I had on hand: Thyme for savory, leek and peeled diced apple for the mushroom, and chicken stock for beef stock. I don't care for parley so I left it out. The previous time I had tortiere, my only complaint about it was that it seemed heavy on the cinnamon, so I followed another reviewer's advice and halved it. It seemed just right to me. It was moist, flavorful. NOt a diet special, but true comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This was delicious! Hubby loved it too! I used thyme in place of the savory, which I didn't have. I also used a Pillsbury ready made refrigerated pie crust in place of the homemade. I served it with mashed potatoes. Will definitely make again -- a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is wonderful! I married into a French-Canadian family who loves "Meat Pie." I did leave out the cinnamon, cloves & savory, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. It was great, even my in-laws thought so! I've made it since using a combination of ground turkey, pork, chicken, or beef...it's great with all of the above! The time simmering in the broth makes all of the difference. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I used a mixture of ground pork, veal and beef. I chose to use cremini mushrooms as they have better flavour. Instead of using the listed spices I chose to use the blend 'Tourtiere Spices' from AR with the addition of allspice. I also used regular bread crumbs (though fresh would've been better- I was in a hurry though) and curly parsley. Overall it is much better than the commercially prepared version. The celery seemed a little out of place and I feel that the seasoning should have been put on the meat directly while cooking to infuse the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is the best recipe for a French Canadian pie I have encountered.....thanks a million. Many disappointing ones out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This recipe was divine. These are the changes I made to it. Add thickly grated carrot. Sub 1/2 cup red wine for 1/2 cup beef broth. Sub mashed boiled potato and a little panko for fresh breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Awesome! May back off on the cinnamon a little next time since I'm not a big fan. Definitely going to make again. It didn't last a full day in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States