Reveillon Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Thank you for the wonderful recipe. My father was French Canadian. As a child on Christmas Eve. There was always a Tourtiere. I even have one of my aunt's recipes BUT Yours is the BEST! Now my daughters say this recipe is a must for our family! Thank you! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULETTEHJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Loved, loved, loved! My hubby is French Canadian and said that this reminded him of the pies they used to buy at the patisserie on Xmas Eve. The only change I made was a little extra ground clove and substituted half pork and half ground veal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My husband took one bite and said, "Mmmmm, this is AWESOME!" It was the first tourtiere he'd ever eaten. I did have to use fresh savory because I did not have dried, reduced the garlic to on clove (because it was huge). I also used less only a generous 1/2t. of cinnamon and a 1/4t. of clove. I used a 12 oz. box of fresh mushrooms and sliced them very thin. I did not have fresh bread crumbs so I substituted instant mashed potato flakes, stirring after each addition until the meat mixture was lightly bound. The flavor and fragrance of this pie is seductive. It makes an impressive (and easy to prepare)party dish. We will defintely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Very tasty. I like the addition of mushrooms, breadcrumbs and parsley which other tourtiere recipes do not have. A classic meat pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I am always looking for some traditional recipes to make for the holidays and I am definately adding this one for Christmas. My family loved it! I serve it with a side of Mac & Cheese or mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This was really fantastic, and exactly like I remembered tourtiere from when I had it before. I made a few substitutions based on what I had on hand: Thyme for savory, leek and peeled diced apple for the mushroom, and chicken stock for beef stock. I don't care for parley so I left it out. The previous time I had tortiere, my only complaint about it was that it seemed heavy on the cinnamon, so I followed another reviewer's advice and halved it. It seemed just right to me. It was moist, flavorful. NOt a diet special, but true comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This was delicious! Hubby loved it too! I used thyme in place of the savory, which I didn't have. I also used a Pillsbury ready made refrigerated pie crust in place of the homemade. I served it with mashed potatoes. Will definitely make again -- a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Excellent! I added 1/2 tsp of Herbes De Provence and used more seasoning: (Salt, Garlic, Celery, Savory).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I was asked by my Aunt to find a recipe for tourtiere, so I came to allrecipes and found htis one. She said this is EXACTLY what she remembers tourtiere to be! This is an excellent recipe and the only thing she said she would change, now having tried the recipe is for her own personal taste she would cut the cinnaomn by half. She made it for my Uncle and he loved it too! He said his mom used to make it when he was little. SO anyone out there sooking for an authentic version of reviellon tourtiere pie..... Thisis the recipe for you! EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States