Reuben Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I used to purchase a reuben soup but the maker discontinued making it. I made this recipe hoping it would be the same. It is not, its better. Everybody that had some wanted the recipe. I made a few changes. I did not care for the celery so I left it out. Also I added 1 more Tablespoon of butter so that the amount of fat was the same as the flour. Then I cooked the butter, onion, flour mixture for a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This recipe is great! My husband was a little skeptical when I told him what was for dinner, but one taste and he was a believer. I followed the advice of substituting beef broth for beef boullion, and replaced 1/2 cup of half and half with skim milk. The recipe was still wonderfully rich and I'm sure it will become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
If you like rueben sandwiches you're gonna love this! Not necessarily something for the kids, though. My teenager didn't like it at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Very good. Puts an interesting spin on an old favorite. VERY rich! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I was looking for a soup for St. Pat's Day, something different. I found this and thought I would try it. I made it for my co-workers, threw it together the night before and took it to the office in the slow cooker for lunch. As soon as they tasted it they couldn't believe how good it was. Word spread fast around the office and 15 people asked me for the recipe. The ONLY thing I changed was the half & half, I used 1 small container of it and the rest was a combination of skim milk and whole milk. A couple of people thought it was a bit salty so next time I would replace the bouillon with beef broth. Otherwise this is an excellent soup worth trying. 5 + stars!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I've been asked to make this again for a fundraising lunch - it's also a hit with my family! You can go lighter with a milk/half and half combination and it's still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I've made this soup for several gatherings, and numerous times for my family. Everyone loves it, especially my dad, he ate it every weekend for a month straight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This soup went together in a flash and tasted fantastic. You have to be saurkraut lover (we are) to really appreciate the 'bite' of the soup. I used bratwurst like the other reviewer ~ just didn't like the idea of the texture of corned beef in soup. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I actually made this soup on Friday for lunch. I scaled the recipe to 2 servings and used a 1/2 of a left over reuben sandwich (from a resturant) and added the cheese & kraut that the recipe called for. I didn't do the baked version, and it still turned out good, although the smell of it was less than desirable. Thanks Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
My wife says this is her new favorite soup off all time. Soups got game!! One bowl is all you can eat though rich! I also would have a couple of small toasted pices off rye to soak up the bottom of the bowl! Dingo out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DINGOTHEDENTDOG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States