Reuben Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by nikkionwine
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great!!! I used a can of condensed skim milk instead of about 2 cups of the half and half, and only used 1 can of half and half. I also only used about 1/2 a cup of cheese IN the soup because I misread the recipe when I was grocery shopping. It was still good with these small healthy changes! I also used a box of organic beef broth instead of the water and bullion. Next time I'll add some shredded hash brown potatoes and some more broth/water, because this was a very rich CHOWDER! and I like my soups a little soupy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkionwine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
i thought this was a great soup but i did do a couple of steps different. made the soup but instead of putting in the broiler i made croutons by cutting up rye bread in to bite size pieces brushing with lots of melted butter and sprinkling with salt. put in the oven for 15 mins on 350 or until crunchy. put those on top of soup and sprinkled with swiss cheeses then drizzled with thousand island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Super easy and very yummy...but rich. could not eat more than 1 serving. Did not reheat well, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warsaw, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
love it! amazing soup! our house smelled great! tasted as good as it smelled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Truly excellent cream style soup; definitely not for the fat/calorie conscious but awesome all the same. My husband was pretty skeptical when I told him that I was making this but it is now one of his top 2 or 3 favorite soups. Instead of the toasted triangles, I cubed up some leftover rye bread, tossed with some butter and toasted the bread cubes in the oven. The only other change I made was using another reviewers suggestion to cut the salt with beef broth instead of bullion (I am pretty salt sensitive). Other than that, I followed the recipe to a tee and it was great. Also, use good corned beef; I used that canned stuff (like Spam) once and didn't like it nearly as much as with deli corned beef. Leftovers would be best I think but the deli meat is good as well. Thanks for posting this unusual recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Easy to make and tasty. Good, but not good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Pretty tasty! My husband really enjoyed. I used my left over corned beef from St. Pat's Day...great soup for leftovers. I did add a couple tablespoons of dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I loved this soup, my family.. not so much. They said it too complicated being sweet, salty and tangy at the same time. Changes I made: I used a 14 oz can of beef stock, 2 cups of 1% milk and almost 1/2 lb of swiss cheese slices. Makes a nice thick filling soup, more than enough for 5 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was my first attempt at making a soup. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
i absolutely LOVE this recipe. my old job made a reuben soup once a week and would never give me the recipe. so i took matters into my own hands!!! this recipe matched the flavor almost exactly. i like to add a little more celery for the crunch and a little more kraut to make it a little more sour. i also eyeball the other ingredients to my desire. highly recommended!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States