Reuben Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Truly excellent cream style soup; definitely not for the fat/calorie conscious but awesome all the same. My husband was pretty skeptical when I told him that I was making this but it is now one of his top 2 or 3 favorite soups. Instead of the toasted triangles, I cubed up some leftover rye bread, tossed with some butter and toasted the bread cubes in the oven. The only other change I made was using another reviewers suggestion to cut the salt with beef broth instead of bullion (I am pretty salt sensitive). Other than that, I followed the recipe to a tee and it was great. Also, use good corned beef; I used that canned stuff (like Spam) once and didn't like it nearly as much as with deli corned beef. Leftovers would be best I think but the deli meat is good as well. Thanks for posting this unusual recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Easy to make and tasty. Good, but not good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Pretty tasty! My husband really enjoyed. I used my left over corned beef from St. Pat's Day...great soup for leftovers. I did add a couple tablespoons of dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I loved this soup, my family.. not so much. They said it too complicated being sweet, salty and tangy at the same time. Changes I made: I used a 14 oz can of beef stock, 2 cups of 1% milk and almost 1/2 lb of swiss cheese slices. Makes a nice thick filling soup, more than enough for 5 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was my first attempt at making a soup. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
i absolutely LOVE this recipe. my old job made a reuben soup once a week and would never give me the recipe. so i took matters into my own hands!!! this recipe matched the flavor almost exactly. i like to add a little more celery for the crunch and a little more kraut to make it a little more sour. i also eyeball the other ingredients to my desire. highly recommended!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My husband and I had lunch at a local place and they had Reuben soup. As soon as I got home I visited allrecipes.com to see if I could find a recipe for it. This is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Awesome idea! I modified this a bit to use up all of my leftovers from corned beef & cabbage dinner. I saved the water from boiling the corned beef & veggies and used it in place of the water/bouillon; I added the carrots and potatoes (chopped); used milk instead of cream to reduce fat, and halved amts.; skipped the Swiss (don't like it); added ground mustard and celery seed. Tastes great and is a perfect alternative to yet another round of Reuben sandwiches or reheated C.B.&C. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I hate to say this, but I was really disappointed with this recipe. I was very much looking forward to the combination of reuben ingredients in a soup format, but found that the milk/cream eliminated all the taste of the sauerkraut and corned beef. The leftovers sat in the fridge untouched, and I don't think I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
EXCELLENT!!!We were looking for something different with our salad for dinner...My friends at work love to sample new dishes this is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Froggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States