Reuben Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Mmmm this is really good! I just used whole pieces of swiss instead of shredded. I also doubled the recipe. Really yummy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This soup was good, but I felt like it was missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is outstanding. I left out the celery as a preference and, due to the other reviews, cut back by 1/3 on the butter, 1/2 of the half and half, and only put cheese on the top (not in the soup). Since I made my corned beef in the crockpot the day before, I skimmed out the broth and used it instead of the bouillion. I am SO glad that I scaled back on the dairy fat. This was still ridiculously rich...and the only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because I absolutely would not have been able to stomach it without the changes. I will not make this just for my immediate family again. It is way too decadent to make it without a special occasion. It absolutely rocked as an easy dish to throw together when my extended family comes to visit for the week, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I'm not a fan of ruebens but my husband is so I made this for him. He loved the flavor, but wasn't crazy for the rye on top. (toasted the rye bread and it got soggy) He would have rather have had a piece of toast. I will definately make this for him again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
everyone was a little skeptical when i first made this but after the first bite they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I LOVED this soup! I was a little hesitant. Though I love reuben sandwiches, the idea of sauerkraut in soup kind of grossed me out, but it was SO GOOD. It tasted just like a reuben sandwich. I made it as written, except I used celery salt instead of celery and I only used 2 T of butter, then just tossed a couple T of flour until it made a paste with the butter. Instead of all half and half, I used 1.5 cups of fat free half and half and a can of fat free evaporated milk. For the beef, I used left over corned beef from St. Pat's day. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I've had Reuben soup in a restaurant before, but this doesn't compare. It tastes like sauerkraut and corned beef in a creamyish base. Not worth the work and won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Matushak Plach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This soup is excellent if you like reubens! I skipped the celery. I also toasted slices of rye bread under broiler. Toast one side flip and sprinkle swiss on them. Broil until cheese is melted. Cut with knife into smaller pieces and top it on the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Anglebrandt, Realtor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
how did this get so many good reviews?? it's just not good at all the kraut got tough the cream is overkill don't waste your time :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This soup was really good! I'll definatly be making this again in the winter on a cold blustery day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States