Reuben Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Truly excellent cream style soup; definitely not for the fat/calorie conscious but awesome all the same. My husband was pretty skeptical when I told him that I was making this but it is now one of his top 2 or 3 favorite soups. Instead of the toasted triangles, I cubed up some leftover rye bread, tossed with some butter and toasted the bread cubes in the oven. The only other change I made was using another reviewers suggestion to cut the salt with beef broth instead of bullion (I am pretty salt sensitive). Other than that, I followed the recipe to a tee and it was great. Also, use good corned beef; I used that canned stuff (like Spam) once and didn't like it nearly as much as with deli corned beef. Leftovers would be best I think but the deli meat is good as well. Thanks for posting this unusual recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Easy to make and tasty. Good, but not good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Pretty tasty! My husband really enjoyed. I used my left over corned beef from St. Pat's Day...great soup for leftovers. I did add a couple tablespoons of dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I loved this soup, my family.. not so much. They said it too complicated being sweet, salty and tangy at the same time. Changes I made: I used a 14 oz can of beef stock, 2 cups of 1% milk and almost 1/2 lb of swiss cheese slices. Makes a nice thick filling soup, more than enough for 5 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was my first attempt at making a soup. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
i absolutely LOVE this recipe. my old job made a reuben soup once a week and would never give me the recipe. so i took matters into my own hands!!! this recipe matched the flavor almost exactly. i like to add a little more celery for the crunch and a little more kraut to make it a little more sour. i also eyeball the other ingredients to my desire. highly recommended!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My husband and I had lunch at a local place and they had Reuben soup. As soon as I got home I visited allrecipes.com to see if I could find a recipe for it. This is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Awesome idea! I modified this a bit to use up all of my leftovers from corned beef & cabbage dinner. I saved the water from boiling the corned beef & veggies and used it in place of the water/bouillon; I added the carrots and potatoes (chopped); used milk instead of cream to reduce fat, and halved amts.; skipped the Swiss (don't like it); added ground mustard and celery seed. Tastes great and is a perfect alternative to yet another round of Reuben sandwiches or reheated C.B.&C. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I hate to say this, but I was really disappointed with this recipe. I was very much looking forward to the combination of reuben ingredients in a soup format, but found that the milk/cream eliminated all the taste of the sauerkraut and corned beef. The leftovers sat in the fridge untouched, and I don't think I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
EXCELLENT!!!We were looking for something different with our salad for dinner...My friends at work love to sample new dishes this is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Froggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States