Reuben Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Great recipe! I love soup, even in the summer. I didn't want to open a can of sauerkraut and had some coleslaw mix to use up, so sauteed that with the onion and celery. I used chicken broth instead of beef and seasoned croutons on top. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Edwards, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Just got another request to make this soup. I use 4 cups of beef broth instead of water and bouillon. I also rinse the drained sauerkraut and chop before adding. Otherwise I follow the recipe. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I didn't make as posted, I combined 2 different reuben soup recipes, but went more with this particular recipe. I made the roux with the sauteed vegetables. I then added 3 cans of beef broth, instead of using any water. Put in saurkraut as indicated and also added about 2 TBSP of horshradish, some worcheshire sauce, and some caraway seeds. I used regular corned beef deli meat sliced into chunks. I mixed in 2 cups of swiss and approx 1/8 cup of 1000 island dressing. I toasted cubed pieces of bread and sprinkled additional swiss on top after adding bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
very nice, hot filling soup. made it with turkey meatballs as i didn't have corned beef: took 1 lb. ground turkey, added an egg, s + p, and a LOT of caraway seeds....maybe 4 T. formed turkey into little mini-meatballs and baked them at 350 for about 15 min. followed instructions for first 5 ingredients, added 4 chicken bouillion cubes. added a whole 14 oz. can of sauerkraut. added 1 c. swiss cheese. added about 1 1/2 c. half n half. as another poster suggested, made pumpernickel croutons and melted swiss cheese over. then we scooped the prepared croutons on top of our soup. steaming hot. yummy. almost 5 stars, but i save that for some gourmet soup from Europe :) this was wonderful on a winter night! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Mmmm this is really good! I just used whole pieces of swiss instead of shredded. I also doubled the recipe. Really yummy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This soup was good, but I felt like it was missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is outstanding. I left out the celery as a preference and, due to the other reviews, cut back by 1/3 on the butter, 1/2 of the half and half, and only put cheese on the top (not in the soup). Since I made my corned beef in the crockpot the day before, I skimmed out the broth and used it instead of the bouillion. I am SO glad that I scaled back on the dairy fat. This was still ridiculously rich...and the only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because I absolutely would not have been able to stomach it without the changes. I will not make this just for my immediate family again. It is way too decadent to make it without a special occasion. It absolutely rocked as an easy dish to throw together when my extended family comes to visit for the week, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I'm not a fan of ruebens but my husband is so I made this for him. He loved the flavor, but wasn't crazy for the rye on top. (toasted the rye bread and it got soggy) He would have rather have had a piece of toast. I will definately make this for him again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
everyone was a little skeptical when i first made this but after the first bite they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I LOVED this soup! I was a little hesitant. Though I love reuben sandwiches, the idea of sauerkraut in soup kind of grossed me out, but it was SO GOOD. It tasted just like a reuben sandwich. I made it as written, except I used celery salt instead of celery and I only used 2 T of butter, then just tossed a couple T of flour until it made a paste with the butter. Instead of all half and half, I used 1.5 cups of fat free half and half and a can of fat free evaporated milk. For the beef, I used left over corned beef from St. Pat's day. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States