Reuben Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Great recipe! I love soup, even in the summer. I didn't want to open a can of sauerkraut and had some coleslaw mix to use up, so sauteed that with the onion and celery. I used chicken broth instead of beef and seasoned croutons on top. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Edwards, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Just got another request to make this soup. I use 4 cups of beef broth instead of water and bouillon. I also rinse the drained sauerkraut and chop before adding. Otherwise I follow the recipe. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I didn't make as posted, I combined 2 different reuben soup recipes, but went more with this particular recipe. I made the roux with the sauteed vegetables. I then added 3 cans of beef broth, instead of using any water. Put in saurkraut as indicated and also added about 2 TBSP of horshradish, some worcheshire sauce, and some caraway seeds. I used regular corned beef deli meat sliced into chunks. I mixed in 2 cups of swiss and approx 1/8 cup of 1000 island dressing. I toasted cubed pieces of bread and sprinkled additional swiss on top after adding bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
very nice, hot filling soup. made it with turkey meatballs as i didn't have corned beef: took 1 lb. ground turkey, added an egg, s + p, and a LOT of caraway seeds....maybe 4 T. formed turkey into little mini-meatballs and baked them at 350 for about 15 min. followed instructions for first 5 ingredients, added 4 chicken bouillion cubes. added a whole 14 oz. can of sauerkraut. added 1 c. swiss cheese. added about 1 1/2 c. half n half. as another poster suggested, made pumpernickel croutons and melted swiss cheese over. then we scooped the prepared croutons on top of our soup. steaming hot. yummy. almost 5 stars, but i save that for some gourmet soup from Europe :) this was wonderful on a winter night! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Mmmm this is really good! I just used whole pieces of swiss instead of shredded. I also doubled the recipe. Really yummy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This soup was good, but I felt like it was missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is outstanding. I left out the celery as a preference and, due to the other reviews, cut back by 1/3 on the butter, 1/2 of the half and half, and only put cheese on the top (not in the soup). Since I made my corned beef in the crockpot the day before, I skimmed out the broth and used it instead of the bouillion. I am SO glad that I scaled back on the dairy fat. This was still ridiculously rich...and the only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because I absolutely would not have been able to stomach it without the changes. I will not make this just for my immediate family again. It is way too decadent to make it without a special occasion. It absolutely rocked as an easy dish to throw together when my extended family comes to visit for the week, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I'm not a fan of ruebens but my husband is so I made this for him. He loved the flavor, but wasn't crazy for the rye on top. (toasted the rye bread and it got soggy) He would have rather have had a piece of toast. I will definately make this for him again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
everyone was a little skeptical when i first made this but after the first bite they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I LOVED this soup! I was a little hesitant. Though I love reuben sandwiches, the idea of sauerkraut in soup kind of grossed me out, but it was SO GOOD. It tasted just like a reuben sandwich. I made it as written, except I used celery salt instead of celery and I only used 2 T of butter, then just tossed a couple T of flour until it made a paste with the butter. Instead of all half and half, I used 1.5 cups of fat free half and half and a can of fat free evaporated milk. For the beef, I used left over corned beef from St. Pat's day. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States