Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
It was great but I had no thousand island so us done tablespoon of olive oil salad dressing,one tablespoon of horseradish and one tablespoon of spicy mustard and mixed together it was fair greaT substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Point Pleasant, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I ran a kitchen for yrs. this is what we did with the exception I added a bit of garlic powder. There was also a Pruben on the menu where Pastrami is substituted for the corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Oh, seriously delicious! I used Boar's Head corned beef (you MUST use excellent quality corned beef for a great Reuben!) and had them slice it very thin. Be sure to cover your pan while you brown these and keep them on a medium/low heat. This will ensure that the sandwich is warm in the middle with nicely melted cheese and perfectly browned bread. (15 minutes per side is waaayyy too long, so disregard that in the recipe directions.) I am not a fan of Russian dressing, but love TI, so that is what I use and enjoy on this sandwich. Oh, and rinsing the sauerkraut is a must unless you adore it and love a very strong taste of it in your sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have to take responsibility for using the dressing which I do not care for. Love Reuban sandwiches but the dressing ruined it, for me. Instead of butter I brushed the bread with olive oil. If you have a George Foreman grill it does a great job on this classic sandwich. Donna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I work as a grill cook at Cracker Barrel, and while the Reuben is one of the most annoying things to make at a busy time, It doesn't take nearly 45 minutes to make. Maybe 5 at most from start to finish. If this recipe works for you, then good. However, we do it quite differently. We start off by putting approximately 1/4 cup sauerkraut (we never measure it, we just grab some) on the grill, and a bag of about the same amount of chip corn beef on top of that. Then we put two pieces of bread down with some butter, and put two pieces of swiss cheese on each piece of bread. Once the sauerkraut and beef has heated up for a minute or two, we put it on one piece of bread, and put the 1000 island dressing on the other piece. As I said before, it shouldn't take more than 5-10 minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Best Reuben Sandwich ever...just like the deli when I was growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
HA! Simple and AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Someone mentioned that Thousand Island dressing is a "new" thing on a Reuben, and it is. In the olden days we always used Russian dressing on a Reuben, and I still do. There are several good recipes here for Russian dressing, some really easy and some taking a bit more time and effort. Try them and choose the one You like best, I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is THE perfect reuben, thank you Colette G! Used top quality ingredients and made a corned beef just for this reciipe (have a freezer full from when they were on sale for St. Paddy's Day) A tip for all of you who found your sammie to still be cold inside after cooking: Cook on med-low, and COVER YOUR PAN WITH A LID. And take your time, these can't be rushed. This will insure that outside will be crispy and golden, but not burnt, and the inside will be perfect with yummy melty cheese and warm meat and sauerkraut. I served these with warm German potato salad and sour pickles. Absolutely fantastic :). Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Excellent! Hubby had mustard, I had TI dressing. Followed reviewer suggestions for warming the corned beef and sauerkraut. Next time I think I'll buy a few more slices of corned beef but we really enjoyed these as written. My mom used to make the best Reubens. These made me remember her so thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States