Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Great recipe! I read other reviews for suggestions, and it came out perfect. Like other people, I put the thousand island and the sauerkraut in the center of the sandwich so the bread didn't get soggy. I found that it was easier to put in the center if I put the (already drained) sauerkraut in a bowl, microwaved it about 30 seconds to heat it up, and then mixed in the thousand island dressing. I kept the grill on medium-low heat and was able to heat it up for the recommended amount of time without burning the bread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This is an excellent sandwich. Be sure to use sauerkraut in a cooled bag (usually from the deli or around the hot dog area in a store). This is far better than the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wingslady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Followed another reviewer's recommendation and lightly toasted bread before assembling the sandwich...that and pressing out extra liquid from the sauerkraut were great tips to avoid sugginess. Added extra slices of the corned beef and another light layer of the dressing. Also found this cooked better on low heat. This recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was VERY good and very easy. I used a nice marbled rye and instead of corned beef I used pastrami. I've made this several times already and it is delicious. Thanks Colette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dillsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I make the Rachel version of this sandwich using Smoked Turkey Breast, since I love this sandwich, but not a fan of Corned Beef. I also use Baby Swiss cheese for a milder flavor and light Thousand Island dressing...it's soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
If you really want a good grilled sandwich you need to brown the inside of the bread first. Then assemble and cook the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysteryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Have always loved Reubens, but learned a little "secret" many years ago from a chef while attending Food/Beverage management courses: 1. Use French dressing rather than the traditional Thousand Island. Different flavor altogether. 2. Drain and wash sauerkraut, and press with paper towel to dry before assembling sandwich. 3. Brown both sides of bread so sandwich is not soggy. Just these few little changes make a lot of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Excellent!!!! I had coleslaw on the side too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I make my Reubens the same way only I put horseradish sauce instead of thousand island dressing. Makes a nice touch that everyone seems to like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I used to make Reuben's in a restaurant, and I got great raves for mine. To improve on this sandwich, I would add more corned beef, and also add an equal amount of Pastrami. The total meat weight of 12 oz. In the New York Deli, they put 1 lb. of meat on each sandwich. Also mix the sauerkraut and dressing, and put it in the middle of the sandwich, so the bread doesn't get soggy. Also, wring out the sauerkraut, so it's not wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polyhistor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States