Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I left out cheese and butter, toasted the bread, heated the meat and saurkraut like others suggested, and thought that everything was very good (minus the extra calories from the butter and cheese). I also used pastrami, I don't like corned beef. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA
Living In: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very good, used pastrami instead of corned beef and used AR's Thousand Island Dressing III. Decadent, but delicious, exactly the way a reuben should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Great recipe. I heated everything separately though because I'm away from my sandwich toaster. Left out butter and added a bit more thousand island. Very tasty:o) thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heffalumpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Great recipe! I read other reviews for suggestions, and it came out perfect. Like other people, I put the thousand island and the sauerkraut in the center of the sandwich so the bread didn't get soggy. I found that it was easier to put in the center if I put the (already drained) sauerkraut in a bowl, microwaved it about 30 seconds to heat it up, and then mixed in the thousand island dressing. I kept the grill on medium-low heat and was able to heat it up for the recommended amount of time without burning the bread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This is an excellent sandwich. Be sure to use sauerkraut in a cooled bag (usually from the deli or around the hot dog area in a store). This is far better than the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wingslady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Followed another reviewer's recommendation and lightly toasted bread before assembling the sandwich...that and pressing out extra liquid from the sauerkraut were great tips to avoid sugginess. Added extra slices of the corned beef and another light layer of the dressing. Also found this cooked better on low heat. This recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was VERY good and very easy. I used a nice marbled rye and instead of corned beef I used pastrami. I've made this several times already and it is delicious. Thanks Colette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dillsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I make the Rachel version of this sandwich using Smoked Turkey Breast, since I love this sandwich, but not a fan of Corned Beef. I also use Baby Swiss cheese for a milder flavor and light Thousand Island dressing...it's soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
If you really want a good grilled sandwich you need to brown the inside of the bread first. Then assemble and cook the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysteryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States