Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I make my Reuben this way as well. Do warm the sauerkraut before assembling and drain it well, then squeeze it to remove any remaining moisture. Adding a thin layer of horseradish to the meat side of the bread is a tasty addition. If you use only one layer of cheese, it is helpful to grill the meat-only side first, then the cheese side. This allows the sandwich to heat up so the cheese melts properly. Mustard is also a good addition if you rinse the sauerkraut. Otherwise, it can be a bit overpowering. As others have mentioned, 5 minutes per side is probably sufficient. You do not want the bread to injure the roof of your mouth! On the rare occasions my husband and I order a Reuben at a restaurant, we are usually disappointed and make this version within a couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
We are not rye bread eaters so I used sour dough and they were excellent. I may try some mustard next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci Milcoff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
If you can get the deli sliced corned beef yummy! For those who live far away from shopping, you can still enjoy a good sandwich. I have used canned corned beef as we don't have a deli market available, and it still makes a tasty sandwich. We also use mustard if we don't have Thousand Island dressing handy. Love these with homemade potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The Rueben is one of my favorite things to order at Ma & Pop style restaurants, but I've never made one at home until today. With all the other Rueben recipes out there, I'm glad I picked this one to try first. It's just how I like them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
The secret to a good Reuben is the kraut. Don't just drain it; take a handful of kraut, hold it over the sink and squeeze out as much juice as possible. Also, use a top quality kraut. My favorite is the Claussens generally found next to their pickles in the refrigerated case near packaged lunch meats. The Swiss cheese is equally important. I was recently served what could have been the world's best Reuben, but they ruined it by using a pasteurized, processed Swiss cheese-like glop. Use only good natural Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used my home made rye bread. It's an easy assembly. I prepared it in advance, wrapped it up until we were ready to cook it, then put it on our preheated George Forman Panini Grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
One of my favorite sandwiches. I have a hard time cooking these so I've adapted... I butter the bread, add swiss and put it in the cast iron skillet open face. On a place I put corn beef, sauerkraut, thousand island dressing and nuke it for a minute. When the bread is done grilling, I scrape off the meat,kraut, thousand island onto the sandwich. MUCH easier to deal with this way. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is my favorite rueben.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe is ok. It is missing something taste-wise, but I can't figure out what is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States