Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
The secret to a good Reuben is the kraut. Don't just drain it; take a handful of kraut, hold it over the sink and squeeze out as much juice as possible. Also, use a top quality kraut. My favorite is the Claussens generally found next to their pickles in the refrigerated case near packaged lunch meats. The Swiss cheese is equally important. I was recently served what could have been the world's best Reuben, but they ruined it by using a pasteurized, processed Swiss cheese-like glop. Use only good natural Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used my home made rye bread. It's an easy assembly. I prepared it in advance, wrapped it up until we were ready to cook it, then put it on our preheated George Forman Panini Grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
One of my favorite sandwiches. I have a hard time cooking these so I've adapted... I butter the bread, add swiss and put it in the cast iron skillet open face. On a place I put corn beef, sauerkraut, thousand island dressing and nuke it for a minute. When the bread is done grilling, I scrape off the meat,kraut, thousand island onto the sandwich. MUCH easier to deal with this way. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is my favorite rueben.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe is ok. It is missing something taste-wise, but I can't figure out what is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
We love Reubens, I also heat the kraut & corned beef either in the skillet or microwave remember just heat don't cook! The sandwich is then warm in the middle and not cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Shamasko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used pumpernickel instead of rye and buttered one side of each slice of bread, then laid them on the griddle with a couple slices of Swiss cheese on top and spread about a teaspoon of dressing on each face. In the interim, I heated the sauerkraut and corned beef in the microwave on high (90 seconds per sandwich's worth). By the time the beef and sauerkraut are done, the bread is toasted and the cheese is melted. Combine and voila! Reuben perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
It was great but I had no thousand island so us done tablespoon of olive oil salad dressing,one tablespoon of horseradish and one tablespoon of spicy mustard and mixed together it was fair greaT substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Point Pleasant, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I ran a kitchen for yrs. this is what we did with the exception I added a bit of garlic powder. There was also a Pruben on the menu where Pastrami is substituted for the corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States