Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
When making mine I use two pans, one large pan for the buttered bread and the other for the meat and sour kraut. I put enough meat and kraut for one sandwich in a pan and warm it up while in the other pan I'm toasting the bread with the cheese on one slice. When cheese is melted and meat and kraut warm place meat, kraut mixture on top of melted cheese , right before serving place thousand island dressing on top on meat and close sandwich .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is your typical Reuben sandwich, but Oh so good, but grilling for 15 minutes, not so much...more like 2-3 min. on each side...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I make my Reuben this way as well. Do warm the sauerkraut before assembling and drain it well, then squeeze it to remove any remaining moisture. Adding a thin layer of horseradish to the meat side of the bread is a tasty addition. If you use only one layer of cheese, it is helpful to grill the meat-only side first, then the cheese side. This allows the sandwich to heat up so the cheese melts properly. Mustard is also a good addition if you rinse the sauerkraut. Otherwise, it can be a bit overpowering. As others have mentioned, 5 minutes per side is probably sufficient. You do not want the bread to injure the roof of your mouth! On the rare occasions my husband and I order a Reuben at a restaurant, we are usually disappointed and make this version within a couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
We are not rye bread eaters so I used sour dough and they were excellent. I may try some mustard next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie5576

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
If you can get the deli sliced corned beef yummy! For those who live far away from shopping, you can still enjoy a good sandwich. I have used canned corned beef as we don't have a deli market available, and it still makes a tasty sandwich. We also use mustard if we don't have Thousand Island dressing handy. Love these with homemade potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The Rueben is one of my favorite things to order at Ma & Pop style restaurants, but I've never made one at home until today. With all the other Rueben recipes out there, I'm glad I picked this one to try first. It's just how I like them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
The secret to a good Reuben is the kraut. Don't just drain it; take a handful of kraut, hold it over the sink and squeeze out as much juice as possible. Also, use a top quality kraut. My favorite is the Claussens generally found next to their pickles in the refrigerated case near packaged lunch meats. The Swiss cheese is equally important. I was recently served what could have been the world's best Reuben, but they ruined it by using a pasteurized, processed Swiss cheese-like glop. Use only good natural Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used my home made rye bread. It's an easy assembly. I prepared it in advance, wrapped it up until we were ready to cook it, then put it on our preheated George Forman Panini Grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
One of my favorite sandwiches. I have a hard time cooking these so I've adapted... I butter the bread, add swiss and put it in the cast iron skillet open face. On a place I put corn beef, sauerkraut, thousand island dressing and nuke it for a minute. When the bread is done grilling, I scrape off the meat,kraut, thousand island onto the sandwich. MUCH easier to deal with this way. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is my favorite rueben.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States