Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Have always loved Reubens, but learned a little "secret" many years ago from a chef while attending Food/Beverage management courses: 1. Use French dressing rather than the traditional Thousand Island. Different flavor altogether. 2. Drain and wash sauerkraut, and press with paper towel to dry before assembling sandwich. 3. Brown both sides of bread so sandwich is not soggy. Just these few little changes make a lot of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Excellent!!!! I had coleslaw on the side too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I make my Reubens the same way only I put horseradish sauce instead of thousand island dressing. Makes a nice touch that everyone seems to like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I used to make Reuben's in a restaurant, and I got great raves for mine. To improve on this sandwich, I would add more corned beef, and also add an equal amount of Pastrami. The total meat weight of 12 oz. In the New York Deli, they put 1 lb. of meat on each sandwich. Also mix the sauerkraut and dressing, and put it in the middle of the sandwich, so the bread doesn't get soggy. Also, wring out the sauerkraut, so it's not wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polyhistor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I mix the Thousand Island dressing with the well drained sauerkraut. It helps hold the kraut together and allows the flavors to begin marrying. The heat from toasting the completed sandwich in the pan or grill will hasten the melding of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Sounds good, but kinda skimpy on the corned beef ( 2 slices???). I load mine with deli thin sliced corned beef or pastrami (preferred) and use my Cuisinart "Griddler" to toast and press them. Results are always excellent with sides of dill pickles and home made potato salad. Never met a Reuben I didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jslingo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I make these sandwiches alot . I use Kraft sandwich spread instead of the thousand Island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
A great base recipe to learn how to make a Reuben but you gotta cook your own meat! It's too easy to skip. Instead of deli meat, I used "Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches" from this site. If butter is banned at your house like it is in mine, using cooking spray works just as well to make the bread crispy. I also used Publix 2% swiss cheese and Publix fat-free dressing. Made a good and practically guilt-free sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
My husband and I was really skeptical, but we really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Good taste but very soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States