Reuben Sandwich II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This is possibly one of the easiest, most straight forward recipes for Reuben's out there. Excellent recipe, everything was in proper proportions and just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Very tasty! I used a rye & pumpernickel swirl bread that took this sandwich to a tasty next level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Yes, this is pretty much how to do it, but I also heat up my kraut prior to grilling the sandwich. She must cook on a very low temp to cook 15 on each side. After reading Mr. Wonderful's comment about mustard, I am tempted to try a bit of Dijon in my 1,000 island since my husband just loves mustard. Why not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Try cooking sauerkraut. First rinse kraut. In frying pan place one diced onion and 4 tbsp butter. Cook on low till onion is translucent. Add 16 oz kraut and cook on low med heat for 10 to 15 min. Add brown sugar to taste and cook another 5 min. Takes sour out of the kraut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Lots of tweaks are required for this receipe. First you absolutely need to drain the sourkraut. Squeeze the sourkraut out over the sink before placing it on the sandwich. If you don't do this, the sandwich will be soggy. As well you do not have to use the bread. Use any whole wheat bread and spread both sides with easily spreadable margarine. I've perfected this receipe over many tries. Feel free to use any Swiss cheese, Grieire is particularly good. I put two slices on one side and one on the other. In addition to thousand island dressing, spread the inside of one side of bread with Dijon mustard. It's delicious! The order I use is margarine on bread face down, thousand island dressing, two slices of Swiss cheese, drained sourkraut, a lot of corned beef, another slice of Swiss cheese, thousand island dressing, bread with Dijon mustard on the inside and margarine spread on the outside. Grill as you would for a grilled cheese sandwich on low-medium heat. The second side will cook faster than the first. Enjoy with a pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I followed the recipe and loved every bite. Even my husband (who does not like sauerkraut) loved the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I buttered one side of each piece of bread, warmed the kraut and roast and put in a Panini press. This is a good hot sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great recipe! I did use a little more Thousand Island dressing than called for, and I cooked it on medium low for about six minutes per side. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ijamsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
LOVE this recipe, used it but doubled the cheese and beef and heated the kraut for 20 seconds before putting the sandwich in the skillet. Toasted on each side for 10 minutes, long enough to give it a golden toast color that's beautiful and not to dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Made as directed except I heated saurkraut until warm. Don't rinse kraut just drain. It doesn't take that long to brown, watch so sandwich doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States