Reuben Sandwich I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
This is actually called a "Rachel". I worked at a deli for years and a Reuben is made with corn beef, a Rachel with pastrami. But this is the traditional way to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
i've avoided reubens for one main reason -- sauerkraut. we thought we'd try this recipe out, despite my reservations! this sandwich is really good and extremely quick. i tasted the sauerkraut first, alone, and it was horrible -- but, all the ingredients are together for a reason, and make a tasty combination. try this recipe, even if you're a little afraid! we'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I had all the ingredients ready when my husband got home from work and let him make these since he is the griddle & grill master--he did an amazing job, and the sandwiches were excellent. He heats the sauerkraut and meat separately on the griddle, then piles both on the bread, tops with the cheese, and grills the whole thing. Used Sauerkraut Rye bread, from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Quick to make and not the same old same old corned beef flavor. I did however bake it and not fry it because my family likes the cheese really melted. I toasted via the oven all the bread slices for about 4 minutes and than after assembly popped the sandwiches back in the oven for 12-15 minutes, flipping at about the half way mark. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I prefer using sauerkraut from the bag rather than the can. I also like to cook my kraut first, adding chopped onion, caraway seeds and crispy fried bacon. Once that was done I proceeded with the recipe. My husband loved this and it made a great Saturday night dinner, just for him! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
An excellent sandwich. As other reviewers have reported, it's quick and easy to put together. My family loved these. Three thoughts: 1) In trying to figure out what might have been different from those reubens that restaurants make--it was the meat. Restaurants usually provide more meat, making for a much thicker, more substantial sandwich, and 2) "medium-high" seems a little too hot. The sandwiches seem to brown too quickly, nearly burning--before the cheese is melted. I know this is not rocket science for you experienced cooks, but I'm still learning, and 3) It would be nice if these held together better, but I think the rulebook requires that Reubens be messy. I cut the sandwiches in half, and even in quarters for my mother-in-law, who has dementia, and they were much easier to handle. Five stars, baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
Thanks for a quick, easy and delicious recipe. I used thinly sliced smoked turkey breast instead of pastrami, and low fat thousand island to make it a little lighter, and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
This was soooo easy and soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Wow! Great Sandwich! I made this because my husband likes them, I had never tasted one. I Love Them! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very good. I used corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States