Reuben Hot Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This was pretty tasty but you can't beat a traditional Reuben sandwich! I used some very strong English mustard, so I added some Thousand Island dressing for sweetness, and a more authentic Reuben taste. I boiled the pasta for 5 or so minutes so that it had softened a little. I halved the recipe, but thought that one can of sauerkraut was too much. I might make this again, but with less 'kraut and a little more cheese. Thanks, Sierra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This recipe was so so. I love reubens but this recipe needed more corned beef. plus, the noodles were still crunchy in some spots and I even cooked it longer than the recipe called for. Too much mustard, and not enough rye bread on top. I think that it would be better if the noodles were pre cooked, more beef and rye bread, and less mustard. I will try to make it again though with the adjustments! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Tasty, but I still prefer reubens in sandwich form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Menning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I kept asking myself why I didn't just make a reuben sandwich. This was pretty messy & we ended up slopping it on rye bread and eating like a sandwich. Doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Great recipe, everyone loved it!! Was very easy to make as well. Used 1 can of cream of onion soup and one can of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
This recipe ROCKS! Next time, I will not use quite as much sauerkraut tho. VERY yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Excellent recipe! I did use more bread than called for. My husband and I had 2nd helpings! I also invited the neighbor over for leftovers and he loved it too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Was a real hit ot our house- a nice change from the regular corned beef and cabbage. Most likely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I am sorry to rate this so low but we thought it was awful! I followed the recipe exactly, thinking what a great way to use up the St. Patrick's leftovers. We love Reuben sandwiches so I don't know what the problem is. I ate my portion, but my husband wouldn't eat his after the first few bites. Broke my heart with all those ingredients, especially the Swiss cheese. Sorry-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Easy, delicious! I also cooked the noodles while preparing the rest and cut cooking time to 35 minutes. Used cream of celery instead of mushroom. Used about 5 large slices of rye bread. Really makes a lot - would be a fun, different dish to bring to a dish to pass party. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States