Reuben Hot Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
My family LOVES this dish; I have made it at least 5 times by now. The only problem I had was some of the noodles not getting saturated enough to soften; they were still uncooked - I simply cooked the noodles while I was assembling the other ingredients and cut the cooking time down to 25-30 minutes. This is a keeper - it is already typed up and in my recipe book to pass down to my kids!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I love reuben sandwiches! This is a close substitute...casserole style. My daughter wasn't too keen on the sauerkraut but ate the rest. However, I reduced the mustard by half. It would have been too much had I used the amt required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
My husband loved this dish. (He's crazy about Reubens.) I added a heaping Tbls of horseradish 1/2 cup of onions and also cubed ten slices of rye bread with a little over a cube of melted butter. Prep time was 30 to 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Good flavor but needed a little more bread crumbs, all in all good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
I have made this recipe many times now. We love it. I do a little tweaking. I use a little extra beef and cheese, and alot of bread crumbs. I also buy a large aluminum deep-dish casserole pan so everything fits good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, New York, USA
Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This was a very different casserol. I prefer a lot more rye bread that the original, so I cubed about 7 pieces of bread and rather than crush, I left them cubed. But otherwise, very easy to follow and nice for a change. KMAN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Hmm. I love reubens, but I didnt' really like this, particularly the egg noodles (maybe it's just the brand I bought). The noodles came out soggy (cooked dead, but still raw tasting), and indistinguishable from the sauerkraut. Also, the Grey Poupon mustard was too heavy. I will either put less next time, or try French's. The rest of the casserole is really good though (the butter crumbs on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
Delicious recipe! I doubled the bread crumbs and butter and next time might make a little more sauce because it wasn't as runny as a good Rueben sandwich is. I split the dish in half and gave one half to a friend and froze the other. It froze beautifully. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
My kids wouldn't touch this, but my husband and I loved it! It's great left over on top of Rye toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
My family loves Reubens and this rated at the TOP! I like more bread crumbs and butter to give the top a crusty layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States