Reuben Hot Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This was pretty tasty but you can't beat a traditional Reuben sandwich! I used some very strong English mustard, so I added some Thousand Island dressing for sweetness, and a more authentic Reuben taste. I boiled the pasta for 5 or so minutes so that it had softened a little. I halved the recipe, but thought that one can of sauerkraut was too much. I might make this again, but with less 'kraut and a little more cheese. Thanks, Sierra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This recipe was so so. I love reubens but this recipe needed more corned beef. plus, the noodles were still crunchy in some spots and I even cooked it longer than the recipe called for. Too much mustard, and not enough rye bread on top. I think that it would be better if the noodles were pre cooked, more beef and rye bread, and less mustard. I will try to make it again though with the adjustments! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Tasty, but I still prefer reubens in sandwich form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Menning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I kept asking myself why I didn't just make a reuben sandwich. This was pretty messy & we ended up slopping it on rye bread and eating like a sandwich. Doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Great recipe, everyone loved it!! Was very easy to make as well. Used 1 can of cream of onion soup and one can of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
This recipe ROCKS! Next time, I will not use quite as much sauerkraut tho. VERY yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTIF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Excellent recipe! I did use more bread than called for. My husband and I had 2nd helpings! I also invited the neighbor over for leftovers and he loved it too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Was a real hit ot our house- a nice change from the regular corned beef and cabbage. Most likely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I am sorry to rate this so low but we thought it was awful! I followed the recipe exactly, thinking what a great way to use up the St. Patrick's leftovers. We love Reuben sandwiches so I don't know what the problem is. I ate my portion, but my husband wouldn't eat his after the first few bites. Broke my heart with all those ingredients, especially the Swiss cheese. Sorry-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Easy, delicious! I also cooked the noodles while preparing the rest and cut cooking time to 35 minutes. Used cream of celery instead of mushroom. Used about 5 large slices of rye bread. Really makes a lot - would be a fun, different dish to bring to a dish to pass party. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States