Reuben Crescent Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Made for Recipe Group. I used a crescent roll sheet, rolled it out and cut in half. Perfect fit for an 8x8 pan. Prebaked, added the layers in. Made some homemade 1000 Island and found I didn't have any kraut, so added a little dressing in place of it. Laid the second half of the sheet over the top. I'm not sure what the sealing to the pan part was for? I didn't extend the bottom crust up the sides of the pan either. Taste of a reuben, but I did miss the rye bread. I didn't have any problem with it being soggy, the crescent roll sheet was nice and crunchy. These would be great as an appetizer! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
It was good. Somethings missing though. We will make it again and play around with some other flavors. Over all it was very tasty...and I don't even like Ruben's very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this for Recipe Group: Just finished sharing this with Mom. She kept saying how good it is (= I recently had a pastrami Reuben out, so when I couldn't find the corned beef I used pastrami. I used 2 cans of crescent rolls in a larger pan. I also subbed 2 cups of shredded jack cheese because I don't care for Swiss. I used a 16 oz jar of sauerkraut with 2/3 c Thousand Island. My bottom crust sank down the sides of my pan. I pressed my saurkraut, rather than squeezing it, and my bottom crust, where the top and bottom crusts met, was soggy )= Next time I will brush the bottom crust with egg white before pre-baking it. We both enjoyed this, and are looking forward to leftovers (= [I did find the corned beef right after she sliced the pastrami for me - so next time I will make it with corned beef (=] edit: When I got back home, I took my leftover portions and flipped them over in the pan, making sure the soggy portions were exposed and threw it back in the oven for another ~20 minutes to dry it out. Just had some leftovers for dinner at work - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. Our kids liked it too, after giving them extra thousand island dressing to dunk it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 01, February 2014 ~ A Reuben is my favorite sandwich, so I knew I had to make this recipe. Reading Christina's review, I decided to use 2 tubes of crescent rolls, to make the dough easier to spread. I baked this in a Pampered Chef® 8 1/2 x 11 1/2 stoneware pan and this was a perfect size for 2 tubes crescent rolls. I increased the ingredients to equal a recipe and a half. After mixing up the dressing and sauerkraut, I added a little extra dressing to make it a little creamier. I let the recipe rest, as the instructions called for, and this cut and plated beautifully. The crescent rolls make this sweeter than a traditional Reuben, but it is still a very good recipe, worth making. I forgot about the egg wash, and added a few caraway seeds to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Loved this recipe and its so easy to make. I used only 1/2 lb. of corned beef( because I forgot how much to buy). I also baked it longer than directed, about 20-25 minutes. I let it get nice and brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
It wasn't horrible but I won't make it again. Much prefer a reuben the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good, but it doesn't need 3/4 pound of the corned beef,1/2 pound was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Really good if you like Reuben sandwiches! I didn't think it was bad with the crescent rolls instead of the rye as some suggested. Overall it was really good. Kids liked it...even my daughter who isn't a fan of sauerkraut ate it. Not her favorite, but she liked it. Her younger brother loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Tasty, filling and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States