Reuben Crescent Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Made for Recipe Group. I used a crescent roll sheet, rolled it out and cut in half. Perfect fit for an 8x8 pan. Prebaked, added the layers in. Made some homemade 1000 Island and found I didn't have any kraut, so added a little dressing in place of it. Laid the second half of the sheet over the top. I'm not sure what the sealing to the pan part was for? I didn't extend the bottom crust up the sides of the pan either. Taste of a reuben, but I did miss the rye bread. I didn't have any problem with it being soggy, the crescent roll sheet was nice and crunchy. These would be great as an appetizer! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
It was good. Somethings missing though. We will make it again and play around with some other flavors. Over all it was very tasty...and I don't even like Ruben's very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this for Recipe Group: Just finished sharing this with Mom. She kept saying how good it is (= I recently had a pastrami Reuben out, so when I couldn't find the corned beef I used pastrami. I used 2 cans of crescent rolls in a larger pan. I also subbed 2 cups of shredded jack cheese because I don't care for Swiss. I used a 16 oz jar of sauerkraut with 2/3 c Thousand Island. My bottom crust sank down the sides of my pan. I pressed my saurkraut, rather than squeezing it, and my bottom crust, where the top and bottom crusts met, was soggy )= Next time I will brush the bottom crust with egg white before pre-baking it. We both enjoyed this, and are looking forward to leftovers (= [I did find the corned beef right after she sliced the pastrami for me - so next time I will make it with corned beef (=] edit: When I got back home, I took my leftover portions and flipped them over in the pan, making sure the soggy portions were exposed and threw it back in the oven for another ~20 minutes to dry it out. Just had some leftovers for dinner at work - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. Our kids liked it too, after giving them extra thousand island dressing to dunk it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 01, February 2014 ~ A Reuben is my favorite sandwich, so I knew I had to make this recipe. Reading Christina's review, I decided to use 2 tubes of crescent rolls, to make the dough easier to spread. I baked this in a Pampered Chef® 8 1/2 x 11 1/2 stoneware pan and this was a perfect size for 2 tubes crescent rolls. I increased the ingredients to equal a recipe and a half. After mixing up the dressing and sauerkraut, I added a little extra dressing to make it a little creamier. I let the recipe rest, as the instructions called for, and this cut and plated beautifully. The crescent rolls make this sweeter than a traditional Reuben, but it is still a very good recipe, worth making. I forgot about the egg wash, and added a few caraway seeds to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Loved this recipe and its so easy to make. I used only 1/2 lb. of corned beef( because I forgot how much to buy). I also baked it longer than directed, about 20-25 minutes. I let it get nice and brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
It wasn't horrible but I won't make it again. Much prefer a reuben the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This was tasty and easy. I added caraway seeds as pictured though I didn't see them mentioned in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good, but it doesn't need 3/4 pound of the corned beef,1/2 pound was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I followed this recipe almost to the letter, except I doubled it and baked it in a 9X13 baking dish. I gave it 4 stars simply because it was warm--not hot-- in the middle, and doughy near the top layer of cheese. Perhaps next time I'll bake it longer and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mastark2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Douglas, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States