Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I love this recipe, but I turn it upside down. I spray the casserole dish with "pam," and then spread the corned beef first(i've even used worthington's vegetarian corned beef.) then, i layer with the sauerkraut and salad dressing mixture. top that with plenty of swiss cheese. then top it with cubed rye bread, that has either been buttered, or sprayed with "pam." when the rye bread topping is toasted, the casserole is done. great solution for those who did not like the soggy bread at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
417 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZMIKCOWGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Very good, rich. Here's how I tweaked it. I scaled the recipe to make 1/2. I spread the bread on the bottom of an 11X7 pan. Then in a large bowl, I mixed 14 oz. can drained kraut, 3/4 c cubed cheese, 1/2 lb. shredded corned beef & 8 oz. bottle of 1000 Is. dressing. Poured that over the bread cubes, covered with foil & baked. Topped with remaining cheese & baked 10 min longer. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This one, according to my husband...ROCKED! Essentially, it's like the sandwich, only layered and baked. One change I made since I was making it for people I didn't know very well, was instead of rye bread, I purchased at my local grocer an "Asiago Cheese Loaf" I think any firm bread would be great, but the cheese bread, along with the other ingredients, were a perfect match. Husband, says,"Put this one into the rotation" High praise indeed! :) Also, it was so rich, that I think that next time I can substitute Low Cal 1000 Island, and I know he won't notice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was excellent. My husband and I both loved it. The only thing I might do different the next time is add more thousand island dressing. I think I would double the amount. This recipe is so easy and much less messy than traditional Reuben sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Very tasty! If you love Reuben sandwhiches, you will truly love this casserole. I did the two-layer approach, layering the ingredients twice, with great results. Do err on the side of *more* dressing and cheese than the recipe calls for to achieve a moist result. I also used thousand-island...super tasty. It *is* an expensive recipe. I found though that the portions are awfully generous: I scaled the recipe back to 4 portions and I still fed a hungry man, myself, and had 2 giant lunches leftover. (BTW, I find it's great reheated...just make sure to reheat in the oven, not microwave so the bread doesn't get soggy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was delish! My hubby devoured it. I toasted the bread cubes on the advice of previous reviews, and the bread ended up being one of the tastiest parts. I also used 1000 Island dressing, and more than 3/4 Cup -- I gave it a good drizzle over the top to lightly but evenly coat it. The only thing I would do different would be to get the cheese right -- I thought I bought a block of swiss, but noticed while I was grating it that I had picked up sharp cheddar by mistake. It still came out awesome, but the swiss would be even better. Mmmmm. My husband asked me to put this in regular menu rotation. Updated to add: I've made this a couple more times now, and with the swiss cheese, which was better as I expected. This dish is a great hit with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I love Reubens but, sometimes they're a pain to make. I like this recipe because it mimics the taste, if not the essence of a Reuben sandwich. I made this twice before posting my comments --- both times in an 11x7 casserole dish and scaling down the ingredients (e.g., 1/2 lb corned beef instead of 1 lb, etc.) TOAST YOUR BREAD! Otherwise, it will come out soggy. What I did was to cut up my bread and put it into the casserole dish, then put the dish into the oven while it was warming up. I drained, but did not rinse my sourkraut. I think that this give a bit more flavor to the dish. I used Thousand Island dressing (instead of Russian) both times. It still turned out great. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Definately a keeper! My husband and I both liked it. But the bread was soggy (except for the edges in the pan), may toast it first or use croutons. I used marble rye bread. I made it low fat with fat free thousand island dressing and low fat cheese and it was still very tasty. Next time I will try Russian Dressing and Turkey!.~~Thanks Monica for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
I LOVED this and so did my husband. I used Thousand Island dressing instead of Russian, and I cut the recipe in half because it was for just the two of us and this recipe makes alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I thought this was very good. My husband really liked it. He even packed it for is lunch the next day, and he doesn't usually even take a lunch! I used Thousand Island dressing and increased the amount to about 1 cup. It's very easy and it doesn't take long to cook. You can still have a good, hot meal on those extremely busy days. Next time I make this,I would like to try it with a mustard dressing as mentioned in one of the reviews. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States