Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Good flavors but make sure you rinse the sauerkraut well to get rid of the salt. I layered it different than the recipe states but otherwise didn't change the recipe. I put the kraut on the bottom, then corned beef and dressing, then cheese and topped with rye bread crumbs. I processed the bread in my food processer and sprinkled on the top so they toast by themselves. I melted 2 tablespoons of butter and drizzled on the bread crumbs. Nice way to make reubens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Wow! If I could give more than 5* I would!! When I took the leftovers to work for lunch the next day, people followed me around sniffing my lunch and begging for the recipe!! Since my favorite part of the sandwich is the corned beef and sauerkraut, I put a layer of 1/2 the corned beef, then layer 1/2 the kraut, then repeat so they really get mixed together. I also spray my rye cubed with butter spray so they crisp up with some flavor! What an awesome recipe!!! I'm going to try it next in the crock pot for easy ready to eat dinner when I get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth James, Midwest Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was EXCELLENT!! I did follow the suggestion of assembling in reverse order to avoid the soggy cust, I placed the corn beef on the bottom of a casserole dish sprayed with Pam followed by the sourekraut then the dressing and shredded swiss cheese on top then buttered bread cubes, I used pumpernickel bread. I baked in a 400 degree oven for 25 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was a 5 according to tasters. It was tasty, cheesy and balanced flavor wise. It could have more/less of any of the ingredients to match your tastes. great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
The casserole was very good however I like more meat than sauerkraut. But the taste was very much like a reuben sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I more or less halved the recipe (used a 6 oz. package of sliced corned beef). It was pretty good but didn't quite have the Reuben taste I was hoping for--that I blame on my home-made Russian dressing. I'll probably use 1000 Island next time unless I can find a creamy Russian. I followed the recipe and the bread cubes were soft but not mushy with a few crisp bits. I squeezed the kraut to get out excess water after rinsing and used seriously stale rye bread! My husband isn't a fan of sauerkraut, but he pronounced it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This casserole was excellent I did use more of the dressing than is called for as others had suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter. The bread was so soggy on the bottom it was just gross. With corned beef at $8.00 a pound, I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I put the casserole together the night before so I inverted the recipe (the bread was on top). I used leftover Guinness Corned Beef and Cottage Cheese Bread I which is really dense and both recipes are from this site. I also used Thousand Island Dressing vs. Russian. This is much better than the corned beef/noodle recipes. I would first use the leftovers for a sandwich, then this recipe and the last resort would be a noodle recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Great substitute for the sandwich! Here are the changes I made thanks to other reviews . . . 1. I made half of the recipe since it was just me eating it - I used a 9X9 square glass pan and it was perfect! 2. The upside-down method worked really well - you spray the pan with cooking spray, add the meat, kraut, dressing, cheese, and THEN the bread. 3. The bread should be sprayed with cooking spray as well. I thought maybe tossing it with olive oil would have worked nicely too. Also, I roughly chopped up the meat to make it easier to scoop out of the pan later. 4. I used reduced-fat 1000 Island dressing and used a bit more than half since I like the flavor. 5. Season the bread with PEPPER and NO MORE salt!!! The corned beef and kraut are salty enough! 6. I baked for about 25 minutes uncovered and then served it with a crisp green vegetable :) ***Addendum*** I have now made this recipe many times! 1. Tossed quite a few cubes of bread in olive oil and just threw them on top of the casserole. The bread shrinks when it bakes so feel free to pile them on there. 2. I accidentally bought pastrami and it turned out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Mexican Casserole

Quick and easy dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican f

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States