Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is awesome!! Absolutely wonderful. If you like Reuben sandwiches--make this!! I wish I had made this years ago. I followed the recipe to a 'T'. I used sauerkraut in a bag (Boar's Head) because it is so much better than canned. Layered the sauerkraut on top of the cubed rye, corned beef on top of that, 1000 Island dressing and the swiss. So, so good! I had leftovers for lunch today and it was fabulous. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My husband and father really loved this! I did make some changes to it tho. I mixed the sauerkraut, corned beef, and the 1000 island dressing together in a bowl. I sprayed the pan w/Pam, put the mixture in the pan and spread the swiss cheese on top. Then I put the bread on top. I left the bread out for 8 hours so it got a little crusty. I covered the pan w/foil put in the oven for 20 minutes, take it out and put some more cheese on it then throw it back in the oven for another 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I only used 1/2 the amount of corned beef the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I have been making this for years and we love it! I spray my dish with cooking spray before layering the ingredients. Sometimes I'll layer everything on the bottom and toss the bread w/ a little melted butter and put them on top that way the bread gets nice and toasty. Just like the sandwich, only easier to assemble and cook! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Made this as listed and like others, found it a bit dry. Would up the amount of dressing next time. Very tasty, though, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammaKD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Excellent !!! After reading some of the reviews which said the bread was soggy, I decided to try something different. I had a loaf of light rye bread on hand, so that morning I cubed it and layered it on a large cookie sheet, then just put it in the oven (not turned on of course) all day to dry out a bit. That evening I put a layer of the bread cubes in a large baking pan sprayed with "pam", then half of the kraut, corned beef & cheese. I spread some homemade thousand isle over that and then repeated the layers. I had a few bread cubes left, so I put them over top and sprayed them with "pam". I baked it, covered with foil at 350 for 30 min. , then uncovered for an additional 10 min. It was awesome, it had a great texture and was very filling. We had a lot left over, so I'm going to try freezing it in single portion sizes for work lunches. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYIG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is one of my husbands favorite dishes. Go figure, it's probably one of the easiest and least time consuming recipes I have! I make it as is, with another reviewers suggestion to put the dish with the bread in the oven while it's preheating. I also add some mustard to the 1000 Island dressing, to tone down some of the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This recipe was ok. It turned out just fine and we ate it, but it is not as good as the original sandwich, which I love. Maybe it was the texture, but next time, I'll just make the sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gopintos
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was pretty good. Here is how I did it based on other reviews. I decided to layer it as others did, but taking in to account that others felt the need to add more dressing (which I also used 1000 isle) I wanted to make sure the dressing was evenly distributed so I decided to mix the kraut, cut up CB, and the dressing in a bowl. Then I put this mixture into the Pam sprayed pan. (I also forgot to rinse the kraut which I would highly recommend) I cubed the rye bread for the top, and tossed it with squeezable butter. Didn’t look like enough bread, so I did 3 more slices the same way and put the butter-cubed bread on top. I did just a hit & miss of Pam Butter spray also once the bread was in the pan. I sprayed the foil too, but didn’t need to as my ingredients didn’t touch it. Once it baked for 20 minutes and I removed the foil, the bread wasn’t very toasty, so I baked an additional 5 minutes uncovered. Then I topped with thin sliced Swiss cheese, 8 slices. We enjoyed it very much. The kids wouldn’t go near it, but I will fix it again for DH and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
this was very good. I didn't use tangy enough sauerkraut for my tastes so next time I will make sure I do. Also I think cottage cheese would be good so I am going to try that next time too. Overall this was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States