Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I only used 1/2 the amount of corned beef the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I have been making this for years and we love it! I spray my dish with cooking spray before layering the ingredients. Sometimes I'll layer everything on the bottom and toss the bread w/ a little melted butter and put them on top that way the bread gets nice and toasty. Just like the sandwich, only easier to assemble and cook! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Made this as listed and like others, found it a bit dry. Would up the amount of dressing next time. Very tasty, though, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammaKD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Excellent !!! After reading some of the reviews which said the bread was soggy, I decided to try something different. I had a loaf of light rye bread on hand, so that morning I cubed it and layered it on a large cookie sheet, then just put it in the oven (not turned on of course) all day to dry out a bit. That evening I put a layer of the bread cubes in a large baking pan sprayed with "pam", then half of the kraut, corned beef & cheese. I spread some homemade thousand isle over that and then repeated the layers. I had a few bread cubes left, so I put them over top and sprayed them with "pam". I baked it, covered with foil at 350 for 30 min. , then uncovered for an additional 10 min. It was awesome, it had a great texture and was very filling. We had a lot left over, so I'm going to try freezing it in single portion sizes for work lunches. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYIG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is one of my husbands favorite dishes. Go figure, it's probably one of the easiest and least time consuming recipes I have! I make it as is, with another reviewers suggestion to put the dish with the bread in the oven while it's preheating. I also add some mustard to the 1000 Island dressing, to tone down some of the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This recipe was ok. It turned out just fine and we ate it, but it is not as good as the original sandwich, which I love. Maybe it was the texture, but next time, I'll just make the sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gopintos
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was pretty good. Here is how I did it based on other reviews. I decided to layer it as others did, but taking in to account that others felt the need to add more dressing (which I also used 1000 isle) I wanted to make sure the dressing was evenly distributed so I decided to mix the kraut, cut up CB, and the dressing in a bowl. Then I put this mixture into the Pam sprayed pan. (I also forgot to rinse the kraut which I would highly recommend) I cubed the rye bread for the top, and tossed it with squeezable butter. Didn’t look like enough bread, so I did 3 more slices the same way and put the butter-cubed bread on top. I did just a hit & miss of Pam Butter spray also once the bread was in the pan. I sprayed the foil too, but didn’t need to as my ingredients didn’t touch it. Once it baked for 20 minutes and I removed the foil, the bread wasn’t very toasty, so I baked an additional 5 minutes uncovered. Then I topped with thin sliced Swiss cheese, 8 slices. We enjoyed it very much. The kids wouldn’t go near it, but I will fix it again for DH and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
this was very good. I didn't use tangy enough sauerkraut for my tastes so next time I will make sure I do. Also I think cottage cheese would be good so I am going to try that next time too. Overall this was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made this to use up our St. Pat's corned beef. I chopped the corned beef, and used pumpernickel and thousand island. This recipe makes a huge amount--I just eyeballed it and made enough to use up my leftovers, certainly not a pound each of meat and kraut. I never thought of making a casserole out of a sandwich! It was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Everyone loved this recipe. I used Thousand Island because I could not find Russian in the store. I switched the layers so the sauerkraut was on the bottom and bread cubes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States