Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
My husband loves Reuben Sandwiches ... this is a great alternative and a good way to use that leftover corned beef. There are only two of us so next time I'll make half a recipe. I toasted the bread first as others suggested ... good choice. It would be helpful to have a measurement for the amount of bread instead of number of slices since bread varies in size. I used 5 large slices of dark rye bread and it was way too much bread for the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I love Reuben sandwiches, and this recipe was great. I like my sandwiches with a lot of thousand island dressing so I used quite a bit more than called for and I also put it under the broil just until the cheese started to brown. Tasted great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HENSOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
My family, especially my husband, loved this casserole! It had just the right ruben flavor. I changed the recipe a little by putting bread cubes on top and bottom of the casserole, but next time I would only put them on top. There seemed to be too much bread with both. Other than that, this recipe was a smashing hit. My husband requested it at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Onaway, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is a treat and it got raves from my husband. I had about half a loaf of the small cocktail size pumpernickel rye left over from another use. I used that and layered all in a rectangular 3 qt. casserole dish lined with the non-stick foil. I broke the bread squares in half. Bread, beef, cheese, sauerkraut, dressing, repeat, and then end with a little more bread. I used a scant cup of thousand island dressing, about 10 oz. of sliced cheese cut in strips, and about 1/2 lb. of beef. I also put a little melted butter on the bread layers. I didn't use the full 16 oz. of sauerkraut but I think it would have been as good if I had gone ahead and used it all. Cooked covered with a glass lid for 30 minutes and then uncovered and added final layer of cheese and cooked 10 more minutes. This is a perfect recipe for taking the ingredients and "eyeballing" it to your own satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I followed the recipe EXACTLY and got rave reviews from my entire family, including my uber-picky father-in-law who is never happy with anything - including restaurant food. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was very good. I cut the recipe in half, and used homemade Thousand Island dressing instead of Russian. I also toasted the rye bread cubes on the stovetop, per previous reviews. I also used Reynold's Release, instead of coating foil with non-stick pan spray. It had good flavor, smelled great, and was very comforting on a late fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Wahoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Awesome!! The whole family loved it & it smelled so good while it was cooking. I took the advice of others and toasted the bread in the oven while it was preheating and also placed the corned beef over the bread and then topped it with the sauerkraut. The brad was not soggy at all! Thanks for a great recipe & an easy way to make Reubens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Delicious! I followed some other suggestions by using Thousand Island dressing, and putting the corned beef on top of the bread… then sauerkraut. I can’t wait to make it again! Thanks, Monica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu loves to cook!
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This was very quick and easy. The only thing I did different was to put the corned beef on the bread before the sauerkraut. This helped the bread from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgton, Maine, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Good sharp flavor. Salty. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNKENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States