Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good dish! However next time I think I'll cut the beef in squares rather than stips to make it easier to dish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lobo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was a great dish!! Even my picky kids ate this!! I did take the advice of other reviewers and put the meat in first then sauerkraut, then dressing (I used Thousand Island), and then cheese, and finally the bread cubes. I had to use sliced Swiss cheese, as it was what I had on hand. It worked great!! I will definitely make this again!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Greasy and very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Good flavors but make sure you rinse the sauerkraut well to get rid of the salt. I layered it different than the recipe states but otherwise didn't change the recipe. I put the kraut on the bottom, then corned beef and dressing, then cheese and topped with rye bread crumbs. I processed the bread in my food processer and sprinkled on the top so they toast by themselves. I melted 2 tablespoons of butter and drizzled on the bread crumbs. Nice way to make reubens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Wow! If I could give more than 5* I would!! When I took the leftovers to work for lunch the next day, people followed me around sniffing my lunch and begging for the recipe!! Since my favorite part of the sandwich is the corned beef and sauerkraut, I put a layer of 1/2 the corned beef, then layer 1/2 the kraut, then repeat so they really get mixed together. I also spray my rye cubed with butter spray so they crisp up with some flavor! What an awesome recipe!!! I'm going to try it next in the crock pot for easy ready to eat dinner when I get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth James, Midwest Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was EXCELLENT!! I did follow the suggestion of assembling in reverse order to avoid the soggy cust, I placed the corn beef on the bottom of a casserole dish sprayed with Pam followed by the sourekraut then the dressing and shredded swiss cheese on top then buttered bread cubes, I used pumpernickel bread. I baked in a 400 degree oven for 25 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was a 5 according to tasters. It was tasty, cheesy and balanced flavor wise. It could have more/less of any of the ingredients to match your tastes. great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
The casserole was very good however I like more meat than sauerkraut. But the taste was very much like a reuben sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I more or less halved the recipe (used a 6 oz. package of sliced corned beef). It was pretty good but didn't quite have the Reuben taste I was hoping for--that I blame on my home-made Russian dressing. I'll probably use 1000 Island next time unless I can find a creamy Russian. I followed the recipe and the bread cubes were soft but not mushy with a few crisp bits. I squeezed the kraut to get out excess water after rinsing and used seriously stale rye bread! My husband isn't a fan of sauerkraut, but he pronounced it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This casserole was excellent I did use more of the dressing than is called for as others had suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States