Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I hate to say it but I just didn't enjoy this like I thought I would. We love reubens, and this sounded fantastic but it kind of fell short of my expectations. It was a little dry despite the fact that I used more dressing than was called for. My biggest complaint, however, was it's lack of "krautiness". If I made this again I would use two cans. As it was, I used one can, and did not rinse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was delish! My hubby devoured it. I toasted the bread cubes on the advice of previous reviews, and the bread ended up being one of the tastiest parts. I also used 1000 Island dressing, and more than 3/4 Cup -- I gave it a good drizzle over the top to lightly but evenly coat it. The only thing I would do different would be to get the cheese right -- I thought I bought a block of swiss, but noticed while I was grating it that I had picked up sharp cheddar by mistake. It still came out awesome, but the swiss would be even better. Mmmmm. My husband asked me to put this in regular menu rotation. Updated to add: I've made this a couple more times now, and with the swiss cheese, which was better as I expected. This dish is a great hit with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Didn't use as much corned beef - used closer to 1/2 lb and there was still a lot. Also used low fat dressing and I did toast the bread before layering and it turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This is very good and something that I had many years ago. I was happy to come across this recipe here and it was just as good as the one I had growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
WE LOVE THIS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I'm only giving it one star so I can say it deserves NO STARS. SOOOO aweful. I LOVE reubens, but this was.....I can't describe it any way but to say...we ate something else that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
It was delcious. Definitely toast the bread lightly, unless you like it soggy. Very rich. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetgrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is an incredible dish. Plus it is so easy to assemble. Everyone in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
What can I say, yummy. Myself, my bf and his brother (who never tried kraut before) enjoyed it. I toasted the bread as suggested in another review and layered it bread-meat-kraut-dressing-cheese. I also didn't rinse the kraut, just squeezed out the excess brine. It turned out great. The bread was a little dry and I think by adding just a bit of melted butter to the cubes next time would do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
The rye bread became soggy and ruined the casserole. I wish I would have read the review that suggested toasting the bread first. That might have made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States