Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
What's not to like? I won't rinse the kraut next time because the bread cubes were a little dry. You can't really make a reuben 'healthy', but I tried to lighten it up a little by using about half of the corned beef called for in the recipe & tried lite dressing. Still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, THIS RECIPE. This is one of our favorite dinners. Have made this several times. I usually buy a loaf of soft rye, cut 1/2 into cubes, lightly toast them with a drizzle of olive oil, then put cubes under broiler. I add about a bottle of Ken's Russian. Tried Thousand Island dressing, but I think Russian tastes so much better. Also, if you can find shredded swiss it works better than the slices. I cover the dish with the non stick aluminum foil. Saves the headache of having your cheese stick to the foil. I like to serve this with the Taste of Home's Creamy Coleslaw recipe also found on Allrecipes. Superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was an interesting recipe to try, and we will have it again. It was a bit salty though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I made this one for my family the other day and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was tasty but very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
very good. tastes just like the sandwich. next time will toast bread. a little too soggy. but still enjoyed it. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
If there was any way to give this 0 stars I would. There is no way to improve on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbroy92

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Telford, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I hate to say it but I just didn't enjoy this like I thought I would. We love reubens, and this sounded fantastic but it kind of fell short of my expectations. It was a little dry despite the fact that I used more dressing than was called for. My biggest complaint, however, was it's lack of "krautiness". If I made this again I would use two cans. As it was, I used one can, and did not rinse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was delish! My hubby devoured it. I toasted the bread cubes on the advice of previous reviews, and the bread ended up being one of the tastiest parts. I also used 1000 Island dressing, and more than 3/4 Cup -- I gave it a good drizzle over the top to lightly but evenly coat it. The only thing I would do different would be to get the cheese right -- I thought I bought a block of swiss, but noticed while I was grating it that I had picked up sharp cheddar by mistake. It still came out awesome, but the swiss would be even better. Mmmmm. My husband asked me to put this in regular menu rotation. Updated to add: I've made this a couple more times now, and with the swiss cheese, which was better as I expected. This dish is a great hit with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Didn't use as much corned beef - used closer to 1/2 lb and there was still a lot. Also used low fat dressing and I did toast the bread before layering and it turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States