Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Excellent !!! After reading some of the reviews which said the bread was soggy, I decided to try something different. I had a loaf of light rye bread on hand, so that morning I cubed it and layered it on a large cookie sheet, then just put it in the oven (not turned on of course) all day to dry out a bit. That evening I put a layer of the bread cubes in a large baking pan sprayed with "pam", then half of the kraut, corned beef & cheese. I spread some homemade thousand isle over that and then repeated the layers. I had a few bread cubes left, so I put them over top and sprayed them with "pam". I baked it, covered with foil at 350 for 30 min. , then uncovered for an additional 10 min. It was awesome, it had a great texture and was very filling. We had a lot left over, so I'm going to try freezing it in single portion sizes for work lunches. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYIG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is one of my husbands favorite dishes. Go figure, it's probably one of the easiest and least time consuming recipes I have! I make it as is, with another reviewers suggestion to put the dish with the bread in the oven while it's preheating. I also add some mustard to the 1000 Island dressing, to tone down some of the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This recipe was ok. It turned out just fine and we ate it, but it is not as good as the original sandwich, which I love. Maybe it was the texture, but next time, I'll just make the sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gopintos
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was pretty good. Here is how I did it based on other reviews. I decided to layer it as others did, but taking in to account that others felt the need to add more dressing (which I also used 1000 isle) I wanted to make sure the dressing was evenly distributed so I decided to mix the kraut, cut up CB, and the dressing in a bowl. Then I put this mixture into the Pam sprayed pan. (I also forgot to rinse the kraut which I would highly recommend) I cubed the rye bread for the top, and tossed it with squeezable butter. Didn’t look like enough bread, so I did 3 more slices the same way and put the butter-cubed bread on top. I did just a hit & miss of Pam Butter spray also once the bread was in the pan. I sprayed the foil too, but didn’t need to as my ingredients didn’t touch it. Once it baked for 20 minutes and I removed the foil, the bread wasn’t very toasty, so I baked an additional 5 minutes uncovered. Then I topped with thin sliced Swiss cheese, 8 slices. We enjoyed it very much. The kids wouldn’t go near it, but I will fix it again for DH and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
this was very good. I didn't use tangy enough sauerkraut for my tastes so next time I will make sure I do. Also I think cottage cheese would be good so I am going to try that next time too. Overall this was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made this to use up our St. Pat's corned beef. I chopped the corned beef, and used pumpernickel and thousand island. This recipe makes a huge amount--I just eyeballed it and made enough to use up my leftovers, certainly not a pound each of meat and kraut. I never thought of making a casserole out of a sandwich! It was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Everyone loved this recipe. I used Thousand Island because I could not find Russian in the store. I switched the layers so the sauerkraut was on the bottom and bread cubes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is one of the tastiest casseroles I have ever made! Follow the suggestions and layer the casserole backwards - it cooks so much better. I am always looking for casseroles to make as hubby works nights in the ER and has to bring a quick and easy dinner - he loves this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was quite good. It came out a bit dry, but I will just add more sauce next time. We will have this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
very good recipe! wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States