Resurrection Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I found this recipe years ago and have been making them with my nieces, and then with my own kids every Easter ever since. A big family favorite. The kids always look forward to making them together just before the rest of the meal is ready. As we do, we talk about taking sinless Jesus (marshmallow), anointing Him in oils (butter) and incense (cinnamon), wrapping Him in the shroud (crescent roll), and then placing Him in the tomb (oven). We always make at least two batches and they go fast. It's so fun to see everyone open their "empty tombs" at the table. My advice: 1. don't skimp on the crescent rolls -- use the name brand. They really do hold up better; 2. Keep the crescents refrigerated till needed; 3. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes; 4. Don't worry about the leakage - they're just as good messy! Just use a stoneware baker with shallow sides or a jelly roll pan with a parchment paper liner; 5. When you serve, don't use napkins or doilies -- they can be very sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Wow, thanks for a wonderful idea! I had no spills of the marshmallow -- only delicious, empty tombs! I dipped the marshmallows in butter, then rolled them in cinnamon-sugar. After rolling each marshmallow in one triangle, I rolled another triangle around it in the opposite direction. I crimped all edges, then rolled the entire thing in butter and then in the cinnamon-sugar. I baked them @ 375 for about 20 minutes; when I took them out of the oven, they smelled heavenly! There were absolutely no holes or leaks or any sign of the marshmallows on the outside, so it was just as much of a treat for me to break open the tomb to find it empty. My kids were in awe as they realized the lesson in what we had done -- that which our Savior has done for all of us! Thanks for a new & wonderful tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Having read that other reviewers had difficulty with the marshmallow leaking out, I pinched and sealed mine so that NOTHING could get through the dough. Wrong! Some marshmallow seeped out of every one of them, some more than others. (It's not really a problem since you want the inside to be hollow anyway. When I make them again for Easter, I will take the advice of some of the other reviewers and use two pieces of crescent roll for each. The dough actually isn't very thick with one, so I don't think it would be too much. I will also leave out the sugar and just roll the marshmallows in butter then cinnamon. The marshmallows alone would make the rolls sweet enough. Good recipe, and a fun thing to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made these years ago and jumped on AllRecipes to find a good recipe to do them again. This one is perfect, except for one thing: 400 degrees for fifteen minutes charred mine! I made a second batch at 375 degrees for 10 minutes, and they were perfect. Further, the whole of the Resurrection symbolism wasn't shared! Jesus is the marshmallow, and He is anointed with oil (butter) and spices (the cinnamon and sugar) before he is wrapped in expensive cloth (dough) and placed in the tomb (oven). Our our year old caught the whole of the Easter story through this symbolism. It's quite clever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
These are always good! Even my husband who does not like marshmallows will eat them. After making several times I've found that the best way to contain the marshmallow ooze is to cook them in greased muffin tins instead of a baking sheet. Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I am so glad that I tried these before Easter Sunday morning. This batch was a flop for me....and I cooked them exactly like the recipe called for. My "tombs" collapsed! I am going to try them again, and take a previous reviewer's advice by wrapping them with 2 triangles. I sealed mine up really good, but the marshmallows still oozed out. I would recommend cutting back the temperature (maybe to 375) and the time to 10-12 minutes. They were a little well done. I would definitely recommend a trial time if you are planning on using these for Easter Sunday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Delicious! I didn't close some of the rolls all the way, but it just made a little enterance to the cave. Topped with "glory icing" (confectioner's sugar, melted butter, and milk) and they were fantastic. Anyone who liked this recipe may want to try making "Baby Jesus Rolls" by pinching off the pointy end of a crescent roll triangle and forming a ball, roll the rest of the dough like one would normally and stick the ball on the end. When baked it will look like a baby Jesus in swaddling clothes! Thanks for a great Easter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Delish!! We used toothpicks to help roll the marshmallows which my kids related to the nails on the cross (pretty smart!) and I threw them in muffin tins seam side up with very little seepage. These are so yummy you will want to make them all year long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I used 2 crescent rolls per marshmallow. These were sticky, gooey, sweet, flaky, and positively delicious! My husband thought I was crazy (but held his tongue) when he saw what I was doing, but he loved the end result. Definitely a Easter tradition in the making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I loved the story behind these rolls and had the opportunity to share it with my kids friends recently (even though it was after Easter). I read most of the reviews and really tried to figure out how NOT to let them leak. First I tried by rolling each triangle a little thinner before rolling around the marshmellow. Next I tried the "seal with a fork" technique to close the edges of the dough. Last step was to apply a small dab onto the seams to try and seal them even more. Of course, it didn't work!! Maybe they are suppose to ooze out onto the pan! I did line the pan to prevent a big mess. The end result was a sweet tasting crescent! Kids loved them and wanted me to make more. Next time I will try them with *mini* marshmallows to see if they are easier to roll and seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Resurrection Rolls

See what happens when sugar-coated marshmallows are baked inside crescent rolls.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States