Resurrection Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Great recipe! The only problem i had was that i didn't seal the rolls well enough so alot of the marshmallow seaped out! I will do better next time making this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
These tasted good, and I really thought I sealed them up real good and tight, but alas....the marshmallows still spilled out on the pan. Might try again another time and hope for better stuffed success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Delicious! I didn't close some of the rolls all the way, but it just made a little enterance to the cave. Topped with "glory icing" (confectioner's sugar, melted butter, and milk) and they were fantastic. Anyone who liked this recipe may want to try making "Baby Jesus Rolls" by pinching off the pointy end of a crescent roll triangle and forming a ball, roll the rest of the dough like one would normally and stick the ball on the end. When baked it will look like a baby Jesus in swaddling clothes! Thanks for a great Easter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Wow, thanks for a wonderful idea! I had no spills of the marshmallow -- only delicious, empty tombs! I dipped the marshmallows in butter, then rolled them in cinnamon-sugar. After rolling each marshmallow in one triangle, I rolled another triangle around it in the opposite direction. I crimped all edges, then rolled the entire thing in butter and then in the cinnamon-sugar. I baked them @ 375 for about 20 minutes; when I took them out of the oven, they smelled heavenly! There were absolutely no holes or leaks or any sign of the marshmallows on the outside, so it was just as much of a treat for me to break open the tomb to find it empty. My kids were in awe as they realized the lesson in what we had done -- that which our Savior has done for all of us! Thanks for a new & wonderful tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Everyone in the family loved these. My kids eyes light up when they tasted them. Delish! They were fun to make also. The marshmallow leaked out of ours but it still left a "cave" and actually the oozy marshmallow made it more fun. I did not use the sugar because I thought they would be sweet enough with just the marshmallows.. they were. THANKS so much for this recipe. A new tradition! :) We won't wait until next Easter to make them again either. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I am so glad that I tried these before Easter Sunday morning. This batch was a flop for me....and I cooked them exactly like the recipe called for. My "tombs" collapsed! I am going to try them again, and take a previous reviewer's advice by wrapping them with 2 triangles. I sealed mine up really good, but the marshmallows still oozed out. I would recommend cutting back the temperature (maybe to 375) and the time to 10-12 minutes. They were a little well done. I would definitely recommend a trial time if you are planning on using these for Easter Sunday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Having read that other reviewers had difficulty with the marshmallow leaking out, I pinched and sealed mine so that NOTHING could get through the dough. Wrong! Some marshmallow seeped out of every one of them, some more than others. (It's not really a problem since you want the inside to be hollow anyway. When I make them again for Easter, I will take the advice of some of the other reviewers and use two pieces of crescent roll for each. The dough actually isn't very thick with one, so I don't think it would be too much. I will also leave out the sugar and just roll the marshmallows in butter then cinnamon. The marshmallows alone would make the rolls sweet enough. Good recipe, and a fun thing to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I found this recipe years ago and have been making them with my nieces, and then with my own kids every Easter ever since. A big family favorite. The kids always look forward to making them together just before the rest of the meal is ready. As we do, we talk about taking sinless Jesus (marshmallow), anointing Him in oils (butter) and incense (cinnamon), wrapping Him in the shroud (crescent roll), and then placing Him in the tomb (oven). We always make at least two batches and they go fast. It's so fun to see everyone open their "empty tombs" at the table. My advice: 1. don't skimp on the crescent rolls -- use the name brand. They really do hold up better; 2. Keep the crescents refrigerated till needed; 3. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes; 4. Don't worry about the leakage - they're just as good messy! Just use a stoneware baker with shallow sides or a jelly roll pan with a parchment paper liner; 5. When you serve, don't use napkins or doilies -- they can be very sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
My children and their cousins had a great time with these. It was a good lesson on the empty tomb as the first thing they said when eating was "Were is the marshmallow". I also omitted the sugar and used two triangles and wrapped around one marshmallow. Will definetly make this an Easter tradition! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kennedy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
They tasted great, but like others have suggested, wrap the extra triangle around the roll. All the mess in the pan from leaking is not fun to clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Resurrection Rolls

See what happens when sugar-coated marshmallows are baked inside crescent rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States