Resurrection Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I found this recipe years ago and have been making them with my nieces, and then with my own kids every Easter ever since. A big family favorite. The kids always look forward to making them together just before the rest of the meal is ready. As we do, we talk about taking sinless Jesus (marshmallow), anointing Him in oils (butter) and incense (cinnamon), wrapping Him in the shroud (crescent roll), and then placing Him in the tomb (oven). We always make at least two batches and they go fast. It's so fun to see everyone open their "empty tombs" at the table. My advice: 1. don't skimp on the crescent rolls -- use the name brand. They really do hold up better; 2. Keep the crescents refrigerated till needed; 3. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes; 4. Don't worry about the leakage - they're just as good messy! Just use a stoneware baker with shallow sides or a jelly roll pan with a parchment paper liner; 5. When you serve, don't use napkins or doilies -- they can be very sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Delicious! I didn't close some of the rolls all the way, but it just made a little enterance to the cave. Topped with "glory icing" (confectioner's sugar, melted butter, and milk) and they were fantastic. Anyone who liked this recipe may want to try making "Baby Jesus Rolls" by pinching off the pointy end of a crescent roll triangle and forming a ball, roll the rest of the dough like one would normally and stick the ball on the end. When baked it will look like a baby Jesus in swaddling clothes! Thanks for a great Easter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Wow, thanks for a wonderful idea! I had no spills of the marshmallow -- only delicious, empty tombs! I dipped the marshmallows in butter, then rolled them in cinnamon-sugar. After rolling each marshmallow in one triangle, I rolled another triangle around it in the opposite direction. I crimped all edges, then rolled the entire thing in butter and then in the cinnamon-sugar. I baked them @ 375 for about 20 minutes; when I took them out of the oven, they smelled heavenly! There were absolutely no holes or leaks or any sign of the marshmallows on the outside, so it was just as much of a treat for me to break open the tomb to find it empty. My kids were in awe as they realized the lesson in what we had done -- that which our Savior has done for all of us! Thanks for a new & wonderful tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
These are always good! Even my husband who does not like marshmallows will eat them. After making several times I've found that the best way to contain the marshmallow ooze is to cook them in greased muffin tins instead of a baking sheet. Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Everyone in the family loved these. My kids eyes light up when they tasted them. Delish! They were fun to make also. The marshmallow leaked out of ours but it still left a "cave" and actually the oozy marshmallow made it more fun. I did not use the sugar because I thought they would be sweet enough with just the marshmallows.. they were. THANKS so much for this recipe. A new tradition! :) We won't wait until next Easter to make them again either. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
My children and their cousins had a great time with these. It was a good lesson on the empty tomb as the first thing they said when eating was "Were is the marshmallow". I also omitted the sugar and used two triangles and wrapped around one marshmallow. Will definetly make this an Easter tradition! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kennedy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
We have made these for years, but we call them Cresent Puffs and put some glaze over the tops. They are yummy and my favorite part is the gooey middle where the marshmellow melts!! mmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SCHWEII
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I had never heard of these until I read about them on this site. My husband and I did this with our 2 toddlers right before Easter dinner. The kids loved it and the adults thought the rolls were delicious. We will definitely be doing this every year. What a great tradition to remind us of the reason we celebrate Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
These were not only very good to eat but a fantastic object lesson tool. This will become a tradition in our home. Thank you for sharing this wonderful food and idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
All I can say is....FAMILY LOVED THEM AND NEW TRADITION!! Just make sure that you buy disposable pans. Or be prepared for elbow grease. Can't wait to make them again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brierlynn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Resurrection Rolls

See what happens when sugar-coated marshmallows are baked inside crescent rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States