Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This recipe was great. I didn't change the ingredients at all. The only thing I did differently was cook the bacon and onion in the oven. I turned the oven up to 400F and put the bacon and chopped onion on a foil-lined cookie sheet and baked it for 15-20 minutes. I hate cooking bacon in a pan; the oven is way less work. :) This soup was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Completely amazing, this soup! I used lean turkey sausage and fat free half-and half, adding a little corn starch for thickening. I cooked the kale longer because it was a bit tough, and made more of the broth/soup without adding extra sausage or bacon. It was absolutely marvelous! I want to eat it every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I will give this recipe 4 stars for using it the way it's written. I was so happy to find a great base recipe so that I could adjust it to my liking. I haven't made it in a while and forgotten a few of my changes. (Double the recipe, leftovers are great) try using low sodium chicken broth or stock, that will help a lot, and I always forget it's heavy cream or whipping cream and I always buy half and half. Still tastes great. I have a great photo but the website doesn't like its size ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Page

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Very yummy on such a cold and rainy day. I used pre-cooked smoked sausage like Hillshire Farm or Eckrich, cut them as directed, but browned in soup pan, removed cooked sausage, then browned the onion and garlic in the same pan. I used baby spinach and baby kale from a bagged salad and milk (it's what I had on hand). In the interest of sodium, I only used 3 tsp of the chicken bullion and only a bit of left over cooked bacon I had. Came out wonderfully! Thank you for a great soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYPOLLY4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
It turned out great! I altered the recipe and substituted 3/4 cup milk with 1/4 cup butter instead of using heavy whipping cream. I also used ground jimmy dean sausage and omitted the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
A definite 5 Stars for this recipe!! Made to recipe except for using 2 C. Water and 2 C. f/f 1/2 & 1/2. All I had on hand was the bulk mild Italian Sausage so I used that too. Anyhow, it all came together into one delicious tasting soup. Thanks Nancy! I'll be using your recipe often with the winter months coming up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Instead of using smoked sausage I decided to substitute Johnsonville Italian sausage. To cut down on the fat I baked my bacon in the oven and drained it on paper towels and just used a little bit of the grease to saute my onions. This turned out good but next time I make it I will leave out the soup base and water altogether and just use a low sodium chicken broth. I'm sure smoked sausage would be good in here too but I prefer the Italian sausage in this type of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
The recipe is good, but I needed to add more spice for flavor, Fresh Rosemary, Thyme, Oregano, and Paprika made a big difference, I also lengthened the cook time to about 1 1/2 hrs. Of course this was just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I loved this recipe! The only things I did differently was use mild Italian sausage instead of smoked sausage, and I poured off a little of the bacon drippings to add some of the drippings from the sausage. I also reduced the onion slightly and added some shallot. I accidentally almost cartelized the onion/shallot/garlic mixture, but it was still great. I personally would use a little less chicken base next time, as it was slightly too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Awesome! I made this vegetarian by eliminating the bacon/sausage and adding more kale/onions. Also used 2 1/2 cans (14 oz) veggie broth instead of water/soup base. Also included crushed red pepper as recommended by other users. Very delicious, hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States