Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Great recipe! I tweaked it a little. I used shredded chicken, doubled the water and put it all in the crock pot for 3 hours. It turned out really well! My husband said, "This tastes like Taco Bell!" without even knowing that it was supposed too. My husband really enjoys fast food, but I rarely let him have it. Now, I can make it at home! And there's no mystery about what the meat is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This was a fine substitute for the packaged seasoning you get at the store. I was in the middle of making tacos when I realized that I was out of those packages. Thank goodness for this recipe! I didn't have the corn starch or the garlic salt, but it came out fine anyway. Great substitute in a jam! I might just use this recipe from now on. The only down side is that it does take more time to measure all the ingredients than it would just to rip open a packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I've been making a very similar version of this for years. It is so much better than the taco packets you buy! I always use this when seasoning ground beef for all of my mexican dishes. Thanks for sharing GVSWIFE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This recipe makes great taco meat. I did not have the corn flour and made no substition. I did not have the beef granuals, but instead I mixed the water and 1 bouillon cube along with all the other seasonings then added the mixture to the beef. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This is awesome. I tried this for my husband because I've never been fond of packaged taco seasoning. I actually used this seasoning on one pound of ground turkey, but I left the measurments of the dried seasonings as is. I reduced the amount of water to 2/3 cup. It turned out great and my husband absolutely loved it. He was even shocked to discover that I'd used turkey meat...said he couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGatewoods

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
was just wondering what corn flour is, somewhere I read it is cornstarch is that correct? I used cornstarch and it tasted great...but is that what I was supposed to use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This is way better than the stuff in the package. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Great taste and easy to make with simple ingredients all on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was such a great switch from the packet stuff. I HATE tacos at home... and my husband loves them! I would prefer taco bell anyday... until today! I REALLY liked this. I think next time I will use all hot chili powder instead of regular chili powder/hot chili powder mix that I used. I think the extra little punch would be nice. Also.. I didn't have paprika or corn flour. Used corn starch and it was fine. What added flavor would paprika do for it? I really wonder that if anyone can help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was excellent. And unlike the pre-packaged kind it was not salty and "fake" tasting. I also did not have any corn flour and used cornstarch instead and omitted the garlic salt. Will definately be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States