Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This tastes just like a local TexMex place that we go to. We had tried other packages from the store but none had ever come close. We were nervous with the amount of chili powder but even the young kids don't find it spicy. We have not bought store mixes since we came across this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Just like Taco Bell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Brookins
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was really good. I followed the directions exactly (including rinsing the meat with hot water) except I took the advice of another reviewer and added the water while browning the meat. This helped it get that texture everyone likes. I also added a little tomato paste while browning. Then I drained and rinsed and put it back in the pan with water and some more tomato paste. Then added seasonings and cooked down. I liked the seasonings because it had just enough spiciness, while the small amount of sugar added a nice balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Tried this recipe last night. It's very good, who needs those pre-packaged mixes? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I would prepare "as is" but would omit garlic salt. Too salty with garlic salt and seasoned salt. Otherwise, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Yummy! Made it with ground turkey and it was a hit. I didn't rinse the meat, and I too add it in once the meat starts browning. Plus, I just eyeball the water amount. I like it almost like a dry rub. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya C D'Herde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
we tried tonite as good as bought mixs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
The recipe calls for a spice or two that aren't in my cabinet. I substituted ground white for the ground red pepper. I didn't have garlic salt or seasoned salt, so i added a bit extra of regular salt and powder. Bullion was unnecessary too. I use vegetarian meat and I added a bit more water, and it came out superb....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Absolutley delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwistyMcSpliffit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This seasoning mix has become my staple. The only thing I do differently is that I use corn masa instead of corn flour, because that is what i keep on hand. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNNYFARM319

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States