Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I was looking for a mild flavor taco seasoning that I could make right here at home. This was perfect as I had all the ingredients on hand. I used a little less of the red pepper flakes as some family members prefer it mild. I also used corn masa for the corn flour, which is corn flour, found in the hispanic aisle inside the grocery stores. A 5 lb. bag will usually cost about $6.00. I also use corn masa to make tortillas and tamales. For this recipe, I used it to make, "Taco Salad I," also from this website. I used ground turkey meat in place of lean ground chuck. Once I cooked the meat, drained the grease, I added the seasoning and half the amount of water. The seasoning is a good flavor with a mild taste, which is what I was looking for. This recipe also leaves room to increase the amount of spiciness to the mixture if one desires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Excellent! Made for taco salad, with some minor subs for ingredients on hand; i.e. corn meal for corn flour. I don't keep garlic salt or seasoned salt in my pantry, so I added a half teaspoon salt. I didn't add the dried minced onion since we were having taco salad, but would for tacos. Also wasn't sure if ground red pepper was cayenne or ground red pepper flakes, so since I had some ground red pepper flakes leftover from another dish, I used that. Even on low heat, the liquid cooked off quickly. I thought the meat was a little spicy on its own (not real brave in the heat department), but it was perfect for the salad. Will definitely use this recipe from now on. I've made a couple of the taco seasoning recipes on AR, and liked them okay, but like this spice combo is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very tasty. I used only garlic powder-probably a full tablespoon. We also browned up minced onion, jalapeno and bell pepper with the meat. I think I will make up a big batch of this mix to share with my kids. I like the low sodium content of this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This really does taste a lot like what the tacos at Miguels ( a mexican resturant in Tampa,fl) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This taco meat is as good as any restaurant, and probably healthier since you rinse the meat. I make a triple batch then freeze individual pkgs. for taco salads, burros, tacos, whatever we are in the mood for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Shamasko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Tastes awesome! Good to have a recipe that doesn't have so much salt or MSG as the packaged varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I no longer buy seasoning mixes, and have made this several times. I add more garlic powder, instead of adding garlic salt. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Fantastic flavor! I'm a spice-loving man so I doubled the ingredients for 1.5 lbs of ground beef and took the advice of another reviewer to brown my meat in water. You would have thought you just sat down to dinner at your favorite Tex-Mex restaurant! This one is definitely going in my box as the go-to taco recipe. Thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Made this tonight for tacos on the fly, and it was good. Also, no MSG like package mixes only IF you leave out the beef bouillon like I did. I don't think it would've added much anyway. Using cornstarch instead of masa (corn flour) also works well. Im thinking I'll mixup a decent size batch of this seasoning, while I already have everything out, just to have ready to go. Thanks for posting :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Was delicious! We all really enjoyed it. I am going to make enough for a whole bunch of dinners at once, get an airtight container and store it for dinners when I can just pull it out and add it like it really is from a packet! lol! Passed it on to a friend and her husband and they both loved it as well! We didn't have corn flour so i used regular flour and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States