Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Granted I was short some chili powder, but I really thought this need more flavor. And it wasn't HOT , and I don't like "hot" stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This turned out amazingly well. I got really tired of taco meat that was dry and flavorless, so I tried this. I omitted the bouillon because I didn't want it too salty, just salted to taste after the liquid had cooked down a little bit. I didn't have masa (corn flour) on hand so I threw some corn meal in the blender. Worked great, very tasty, very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
good. I didn't use ground chuck maybe that would have tasted better. But, it was still better then the powdered packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly H.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I made the following substitutions: 1/4t. seasoned pepper + 1/4t. salt = 1/2t. seasoned salt; 1/4t. garlic powder + 1/4t. salt = 1/2t. garlic salt; 1/2t. crushed red pepper flakes = 1/4t. ground red pepper. I made a double recipe and added some to the rice & beans before cooking them. I used 4T to add to a 1.25lb tray of ground turkey and skipped the washing step. It was all very yummy! I will make more to keep handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I amde this recipe for a crowd of 15, kids and adults, fussy eaters.. It got rave reviews. I cooked 6lbs of ground beef and used 4 times the seasoning.. Also did the Chicken recipe in the slow cooker.. didn't make enough.. awsome awsome asome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made it vegetarian and omitted the beef and beef boullion. I also added a couple cloves of garlic and some onion as another reviewer mentioned. In place of beef, I used TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein). I'll use turkey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Very good! Did cut the cumin b/c it's a strong spice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I used corn meal since I had it on hand, instead of corn flour, and the results were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willoughby Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My whole family loves this kind of taco meat. I never buy pre-packaged taco seasoning anymore. Instead of cornmeal, I just use cornbread mix, like jif or betty crocker. I also skip the ground red pepper since I have several kids and instead of minced onion, I just saute diced onion with the meat while it is cooking. Definately a keeper in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe was so yummy! I used regular flour instead of corn flour. I fried half of a medium onion and 3 cloves of garlic with the meat. I also added a can of diced tomatoes when the seasonings were added to the meat. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States