Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This turned out great, first time making taco seasoning from scratch and it was tasty. No more store bought for me, takes a few extra minutes vs opening a package but you know what ingredients are in there, and they're common ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
My fiance LOVES when I make these tacos, So of course I use this recipe often. I also made it for my family and they love it too. There are a few things I leave out of the recipe including corn flower, seasoned salt, beef bouillon and the sugar. In lieu of these ingredients I add a taco sauce usually mild and I put a few dashes of hot sauce in the mix . I also put the recipe in the slow cooker and if I have time put it on the lowest time setting ( about 10 hours so I add more water approx 2 cups). Normally it doesn't take the whole 10 hours to cook, but I just prefer the lowest setting for any type of meat. It turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Scaled this recipe up to feed a hungry army of 50 high school kids and it was a big hit. I used the ingredient quantities as called for and it was mild (heat-wise) and flavorful but you could scale up the red pepper to increase the heat if you like. I actually adapted it for the crock pot. Browned the beef in the skillet, then put it in the crock pot on high for 4 hours with everything except the corn masa - added that in the last 30min of cooking just to thicken it. Fantastic, everyone loved it! I will be making this again for our family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Had guests coming for taco dinner and realized I was out of taco seasoning packets. This was easy and delicious so I might not bother buying the packets again. I didn't have corn flour so I sprinkled corn starch on top of the meat when it was simmering and mixed it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good spice mix for Mexican foods without the extreme salt content that many packaged mixes have. To make it as convenient as the envelope mixes, I make enough to fill an empty spice jar leaving out the beef granules as they too increase the salt content using low sodium beef broth in place of water while cooking the meat. NOTE: Corn flour is corn masa and helps bind the spices to the meat which is an integral part of this recipe. Hope that helped answer the question that others had. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I use this recipe EVERY time I make tacos (which is about once a week, we love them so much). Simple enough. But I do use more spices than listed. So maybe 1 tsp instead of a 1/2 tsp, and less chili powder. After the initial seasoning, after the meat is cooked, I taste and season some more. I also add a bay leaf while it simmers. Great basic recipe though! I'll never buy taco seasoning packets ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Made this tonight and used everything the recipe called for except I used corn meal, bouillon cube and diced onions because that's what I had. This made really great nachos and will be my new recipe. Thanks GVSWIFE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
No reason to buy those sodium filled packets anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Excellent. I didn't have corn flour so I ground up some cornmeal to make it finer... seemed to work ok. This is a great mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
So easy and way cheaper than buying those packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States