Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was really good. I followed the directions exactly (including rinsing the meat with hot water) except I took the advice of another reviewer and added the water while browning the meat. This helped it get that texture everyone likes. I also added a little tomato paste while browning. Then I drained and rinsed and put it back in the pan with water and some more tomato paste. Then added seasonings and cooked down. I liked the seasonings because it had just enough spiciness, while the small amount of sugar added a nice balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Tried this recipe last night. It's very good, who needs those pre-packaged mixes? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I would prepare "as is" but would omit garlic salt. Too salty with garlic salt and seasoned salt. Otherwise, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Yummy! Made it with ground turkey and it was a hit. I didn't rinse the meat, and I too add it in once the meat starts browning. Plus, I just eyeball the water amount. I like it almost like a dry rub. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya C D'Herde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
we tried tonite as good as bought mixs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
The recipe calls for a spice or two that aren't in my cabinet. I substituted ground white for the ground red pepper. I didn't have garlic salt or seasoned salt, so i added a bit extra of regular salt and powder. Bullion was unnecessary too. I use vegetarian meat and I added a bit more water, and it came out superb....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Absolutley delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwistyMcSpliffit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This seasoning mix has become my staple. The only thing I do differently is that I use corn masa instead of corn flour, because that is what i keep on hand. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNNYFARM319

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
To truly get the resturant quality taste put your browned hamburger meat through a food processor for 2-3 minutes. Afterwards place the meat in a seperate bowl and proceed to add your dry ingredients for theseasoning along with water as needed to absorbs the seasoning. Stir well and then re-microwave. I'd also suggest adding 2-3 spoonfls of salsaand 1 teaspoon o red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is AWESOME!!! Just the right amount of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72

Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States