Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe was so yummy! I used regular flour instead of corn flour. I fried half of a medium onion and 3 cloves of garlic with the meat. I also added a can of diced tomatoes when the seasonings were added to the meat. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was very good. I didn't do it exactly. I had some beef broth left over so I used that rather than water and I let it simmer about 2 hours just because I could. I also used the same amounts listed but for 2 pounds of beef was perfect for us. I agree it needs a little something...I just don't know what that is. This will be what I use for tacos in the future. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
It was a good substitute to the packets you get in the grocery store. Even though it was good something tasted like it was missing. I didnt have corn flour or beef boullion so that may have made the difference.I will however use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Very good, basic recipe. I kicked it up a notch with some extra hot pepper flakes and some chilies. We all have loads of seasonings in our cupboards, why not mix them up instead of buying the bottles for so much more $$. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIJANUARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Yum! I actually thought it tasted better than fast food. I didn't have the corn flour, but I saw that others used corn starch. It worked just fine for me. This didn't last too long in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sellsie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
We loved this seasoning mix! It was so much better than what you buy in those little packets and a ton less salt. I will never buy a taco seasoning packet again. I have passed the recipe along and even thought about putting together small jars of it to give a Christmas presents. Yes, it is that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERDISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Thank you for posting this recipe. I have been looking for this and have tried many other with out the same results. This is the best, I will never buy store brand again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
OKAY NEEDED ALITTLE MORE OF SOMETHING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Troutdale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This recipe is great! I have made it a few times now and each time it comes out perfect. The taco meat is tasty and moist. It turns out i had no onion powder, but the recipe still came out fine. I used Adobo for the season salt and regular flour instead of corn flour. Recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I made the recipe as written. My three-year old ate two whole tacos and my 18-month old ate half of one taco. That is really saying something about the flavor when both kids eat heartily. My husband and I enjoyed the flavor as well. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States