Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
To get that "popular fast-food taco restaurant" texture to the ground meat(being beef, turkey or whatever). Just add water before cooking to the crumbled meat and stir well and frequently as it browns. This helps the meat separate. You can drain the excess fat of when the water has cooked out of it, but I do not recommend rinsing it. Add more water before adding the seasoning if needed. I, personally, just add the seasoning once the meat starts browning and just let the water cook out. You will end up with that crumbly texture that I just love about that certain, unnamed taco place. This works with those little packets too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diamar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
was just wondering what corn flour is, somewhere I read it is cornstarch is that correct? I used cornstarch and it tasted great...but is that what I was supposed to use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Pretty good. Homemade seasonings are definately better than buying those package mixes. As far as the corn flour, it's essential for the flavor, but I did feel the overall taste was a little bland. To answer a previous question, corn flour is like masa used in various latino foods. It's not the same as corn starch. It's found in the mexican food isle of the grocery store and sometimes is called corn masa or masa harina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Great recipe! I tweaked it a little. I used shredded chicken, doubled the water and put it all in the crock pot for 3 hours. It turned out really well! My husband said, "This tastes like Taco Bell!" without even knowing that it was supposed too. My husband really enjoys fast food, but I rarely let him have it. Now, I can make it at home! And there's no mystery about what the meat is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I used corn meal since I had it on hand, instead of corn flour, and the results were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willoughby Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This was a fine substitute for the packaged seasoning you get at the store. I was in the middle of making tacos when I realized that I was out of those packages. Thank goodness for this recipe! I didn't have the corn starch or the garlic salt, but it came out fine anyway. Great substitute in a jam! I might just use this recipe from now on. The only down side is that it does take more time to measure all the ingredients than it would just to rip open a packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This seasoning mix was AWESOME!! Taste like the restaurant style but without the high sodium content and the "aftertaste" the boughten package mix has. This will be a standard for me, plus I'm going to make some of the spices up to give as gifts for friends as well. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rugby, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good spice mix for Mexican foods without the extreme salt content that many packaged mixes have. To make it as convenient as the envelope mixes, I make enough to fill an empty spice jar leaving out the beef granules as they too increase the salt content using low sodium beef broth in place of water while cooking the meat. NOTE: Corn flour is corn masa and helps bind the spices to the meat which is an integral part of this recipe. Hope that helped answer the question that others had. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
VERY good. I will definitely use this again. I had a Mexican themed Super Bowl Party and I use this recipe for my tacos...I followed the recipe (well I tripled the recipe but kept the same measurments)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was very tasty taco meat. Nice mild chili pepper flavor, nice texture. I used the whole cube of bouillion instead of granules. Tastes just like On The Border's. Hubby asked me to repeat this one every time I make tacos from now on. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States