Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Excellent! Made for taco salad, with some minor subs for ingredients on hand; i.e. corn meal for corn flour. I don't keep garlic salt or seasoned salt in my pantry, so I added a half teaspoon salt. I didn't add the dried minced onion since we were having taco salad, but would for tacos. Also wasn't sure if ground red pepper was cayenne or ground red pepper flakes, so since I had some ground red pepper flakes leftover from another dish, I used that. Even on low heat, the liquid cooked off quickly. I thought the meat was a little spicy on its own (not real brave in the heat department), but it was perfect for the salad. Will definitely use this recipe from now on. I've made a couple of the taco seasoning recipes on AR, and liked them okay, but like this spice combo is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very tasty. I used only garlic powder-probably a full tablespoon. We also browned up minced onion, jalapeno and bell pepper with the meat. I think I will make up a big batch of this mix to share with my kids. I like the low sodium content of this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This really does taste a lot like what the tacos at Miguels ( a mexican resturant in Tampa,fl) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This taco meat is as good as any restaurant, and probably healthier since you rinse the meat. I make a triple batch then freeze individual pkgs. for taco salads, burros, tacos, whatever we are in the mood for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Shamasko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Tastes awesome! Good to have a recipe that doesn't have so much salt or MSG as the packaged varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I no longer buy seasoning mixes, and have made this several times. I add more garlic powder, instead of adding garlic salt. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Fantastic flavor! I'm a spice-loving man so I doubled the ingredients for 1.5 lbs of ground beef and took the advice of another reviewer to brown my meat in water. You would have thought you just sat down to dinner at your favorite Tex-Mex restaurant! This one is definitely going in my box as the go-to taco recipe. Thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Made this tonight for tacos on the fly, and it was good. Also, no MSG like package mixes only IF you leave out the beef bouillon like I did. I don't think it would've added much anyway. Using cornstarch instead of masa (corn flour) also works well. Im thinking I'll mixup a decent size batch of this seasoning, while I already have everything out, just to have ready to go. Thanks for posting :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Was delicious! We all really enjoyed it. I am going to make enough for a whole bunch of dinners at once, get an airtight container and store it for dinners when I can just pull it out and add it like it really is from a packet! lol! Passed it on to a friend and her husband and they both loved it as well! We didn't have corn flour so i used regular flour and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Huge hit, authentic taste fam loved it. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States