Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good spice mix for Mexican foods without the extreme salt content that many packaged mixes have. To make it as convenient as the envelope mixes, I make enough to fill an empty spice jar leaving out the beef granules as they too increase the salt content using low sodium beef broth in place of water while cooking the meat. NOTE: Corn flour is corn masa and helps bind the spices to the meat which is an integral part of this recipe. Hope that helped answer the question that others had. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I use this recipe EVERY time I make tacos (which is about once a week, we love them so much). Simple enough. But I do use more spices than listed. So maybe 1 tsp instead of a 1/2 tsp, and less chili powder. After the initial seasoning, after the meat is cooked, I taste and season some more. I also add a bay leaf while it simmers. Great basic recipe though! I'll never buy taco seasoning packets ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Made this tonight and used everything the recipe called for except I used corn meal, bouillon cube and diced onions because that's what I had. This made really great nachos and will be my new recipe. Thanks GVSWIFE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
No reason to buy those sodium filled packets anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Excellent. I didn't have corn flour so I ground up some cornmeal to make it finer... seemed to work ok. This is a great mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
So easy and way cheaper than buying those packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I love homemade seasonings. The seasoning mix added a lot spicy goodness to our beef tacos and taco salads. I used masa harina for the corn flour. You can find masa harina in the baking aisle. I also store my masa harina in the freezer since I don't use it very often. Chili powder can also vary in heat levels. My family likes our Mexican food spicy and hot, so I went with a hot chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Quite tasty especially on taco salad. It's a little spicy for some in my family so I will adjust ground red pepper as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was absolutely delicious!! My husband couldn't stop talking about it. We used turkey instead of beef and you would never have known the difference. Definitely a keeper! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Won't buy taco seasoning again. Love it.Used a touch more salt,garlic,and cumin. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States