Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Yep, the key is to add the water right at the start, even more than you think looks right, then cook down. That is how to get the fast-food texture that sometimes you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
corn flour is Masa Harina, for this recipe I love peppers so I added fresh/diced jalepeno (no seeds, just ribs), fresh anaheim peppers and diced green and red bell peppers. Also, I think fresh garlic is much better, at least granulated garlic instead of the garlic powder. I make a LOT of this at once, because I make a LOT of mexican food at home, so I set the entire garlic clove in the oven (while I'm baking something else) for a few minutes and then chop it up and add it. I like to first use beef broth, not a lot, but a good concentration, almost boiling to first brown the beef, then add the veggies (sauted in a separate pan), afterwards and let the whole recipe simmer quite a bit while I'm doing other things. The flavors marry very nicely, and I agree about using the food processor(today's ground beef is not the quality of my Mom's and grandmother's). I have drained the beef, ground it and added it back to the broth and let the broth cook down with the veggies, but mostly it's for texture. (The kids are picky, but at work, it's not that big of deal)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefTexasGirl:)

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Del Rio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Way too salty! I don't us store bought taco seasoning mixes because of how salty they are, and was hoping I could remedy that by making my own. I'm not someone who never eats salty foods either. The other 2 people who had it seemed to enjoy it. I will omit the salt next time and see if it's better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was excellent! My husband loved it. I made it as writte but only used 3 tablespoons in 1 lb of hamburger. Thank goodness I doubled the recipe and now have extra for next time. It is just as easy as a packet if you do this and is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Just like Taco Bell "meat"! The kids loved it, I found it kind of, well, it tasted like fast food tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Restaurant Style Taco Meat Seasoning Haiku: "Weren't blown away. Not outstanding, but not bad. Still, easy to make." I definitely prefer AR's "Taco Seasoning I" blend (w/ a little added masa flour) to this one; not sure why we weren't all that impressed w/ this recipe as nothing about it particularly reminded us of "that" fast-food restaurant. I guess the ratio of spices along w/ rinsing the meat off just made for a less-than-enjoyed taco experience for us, but hey, nice to try something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I just loved the rich powerful flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was fine, nothing spectacular. It was too salty for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I left out the beef granules the second time and it was better tasting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States