Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was excellent! My husband loved it. I made it as writte but only used 3 tablespoons in 1 lb of hamburger. Thank goodness I doubled the recipe and now have extra for next time. It is just as easy as a packet if you do this and is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Just like Taco Bell "meat"! The kids loved it, I found it kind of, well, it tasted like fast food tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Restaurant Style Taco Meat Seasoning Haiku: "Weren't blown away. Not outstanding, but not bad. Still, easy to make." I definitely prefer AR's "Taco Seasoning I" blend (w/ a little added masa flour) to this one; not sure why we weren't all that impressed w/ this recipe as nothing about it particularly reminded us of "that" fast-food restaurant. I guess the ratio of spices along w/ rinsing the meat off just made for a less-than-enjoyed taco experience for us, but hey, nice to try something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I just loved the rich powerful flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was fine, nothing spectacular. It was too salty for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I left out the beef granules the second time and it was better tasting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I had to make 6 pounds of taco meat "pronto"! (So I just quadrupled each ingredient for a close approximation.) Despite missing a couple ingredients (no red pepper, replaced garlic powder with mince garlic from a jar, and used fresh onion), this recipe came out great with ground TURKEY. No, I did NOT wash the meat: browned it in some olive oil with the GRATED fresh onion, and simply added the water at the end. After cooking off the water, it looked great. At first the flavor was a little flat (due to that missing red pepper?), but later that evening the spicyness and saltiness came through nicely. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Martinez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Definitely better than the "fast food" quality flavor. I didn't have the beef bouillon granules, so I just omitted. It didn't need it. Plenty of flavor without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon's Mummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheswick, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Big hit with my family this recipe is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This turned out great, first time making taco seasoning from scratch and it was tasty. No more store bought for me, takes a few extra minutes vs opening a package but you know what ingredients are in there, and they're common ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States