Restaurant-Style Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
This was really good and quick and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
This recipe was quick and easy. I had recently visited a farm market and purchased a large quantity of fresh spinach, which I blanched and chopped. Had on hand cream of mushroom instead of celery soup. Sauted the onions in just 2 T. of butter instead of 4, omitted adding any additonal salt and used 1/2 Tsp. powdered garlic. It was scrumptous! My husband suggested trying it next time not sauting the onions for the added crunch. This man hates creamed spinached, but gobbled this down and said I should definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I love this recipe! Added a can of mushrooms (drained) as well. Thanks : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I only used about a quarter of an onion (sauteed in butter before adding to the casserole) and it was delicious. I would suggest doubling the recipe since it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Yummy!!! I used cream of mushroom instead of celery... and it was awesome. My 23 month old ate 2 helpings for supper and 2 more the next day at lunch. I think it was even better reheated. I will make this again, and again, and...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This was a very nice recipe. I used cream of mushroom instead of cream of celery (what i had in the pantry), and added a small can of mushrooms. Holiday-Meal worthy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This side dish is deeelicious!! I saute the chopped onions in olive or butter for 5 minutes first. There is no need to add the flour or additional salt. Second of all, I used Campbell's cream of chicken/mushroom soup. Third of all, make sure your spinach is squeezed DRY (as dry as possible). I do it by hand over a colander. You can add 1 Tbsp of milk or so if it is too thick. This is one of my favorite side dishes. Thank you Stephanie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Another keeper!!! Followed recipe exactly and it was on the mark. I had put this in my shopping list so I did have Cream of Celery on hand and I wouldn't change that - I'm sure it gave the spinach more flavor than using Cream of Mushroom. I thawed my spinach very early in the day and three times during the day I put the spinach in a paper towel and squeezed out the water. It was a great consistancy when I was ready to cook it. Thanks sumbitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Very good, but it's more like a dip or a variation of creamed spinach. You really don't need butter and flour, the cream soup makes it thick enough. I ended up adding some milk to thin it out a bit. I also substituted with scallions and cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Delicious and simply! My kind of EASY!!! I used fresh green onions from the garden and a teaspoon of chopped garlic. Also took others suggestion of using cream of mushroom soup. I sauteed the onion and garlic in 3 tblsp of butter, then added flour and about 1/2 cup of half n half, then soup. I also used a 16 oz. bag of frozen chopped spinach (thawed). Great flavor and supper quick side-dish! Perfect for any occasion! Thanks for recipe. It is keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States