Restaurant-Style Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Small chef in small restaurant always looking for good side dishes. I usually shy from "soup' ingredients but follwed through with a few good changes. I began with half the butter in which I sauted 1 shallot, minced, and the 4 cloves of crushed garlic (fresh). I then added the 1 tbs of flour and let it cook slightly. I then added the can of soup, let it thicken and then thinned it a bit with 1/4 to 1/2 chicken stock. I the chopped 2 bags of baby spinach, about an inch or so thick and after the heat is off folded it gently into the sauce mixture. I did not let it cook. Placed it all in a 9X13 buttered dish - topped it with 1 cup Panko crumbs, seasoned with S&P and a little Olive oil. I baked it for 15-20 min just to bring it to heat and crisp the topping. Rave reviews...Please try it with the fresh spinach and you will never go back to frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
My husband and I really liked this dish. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of celery. I also melted only half the butter and cooked the onion in it before adding the other ingredients. I don't like raw onions which I think these would have been because the dish comes together so quickly. I don't think cutting down on the butter hurt it one bit. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Floyd, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
This recipe was quick and easy. I had recently visited a farm market and purchased a large quantity of fresh spinach, which I blanched and chopped. Had on hand cream of mushroom instead of celery soup. Sauted the onions in just 2 T. of butter instead of 4, omitted adding any additonal salt and used 1/2 Tsp. powdered garlic. It was scrumptous! My husband suggested trying it next time not sauting the onions for the added crunch. This man hates creamed spinached, but gobbled this down and said I should definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Very good, but it's more like a dip or a variation of creamed spinach. You really don't need butter and flour, the cream soup makes it thick enough. I ended up adding some milk to thin it out a bit. I also substituted with scallions and cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Another keeper!!! Followed recipe exactly and it was on the mark. I had put this in my shopping list so I did have Cream of Celery on hand and I wouldn't change that - I'm sure it gave the spinach more flavor than using Cream of Mushroom. I thawed my spinach very early in the day and three times during the day I put the spinach in a paper towel and squeezed out the water. It was a great consistancy when I was ready to cook it. Thanks sumbitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Great dish. I used fresh baby spinach, added fresh mushrooms and garlic. I sauted the onions, musrooms and garlic before adding the soup, flour, and chopped spinach. I then added panko bread crumbs and baked for 20 minutes at 375, then topped with parmigiano cheese just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This side dish is deeelicious!! I saute the chopped onions in olive or butter for 5 minutes first. There is no need to add the flour or additional salt. Second of all, I used Campbell's cream of chicken/mushroom soup. Third of all, make sure your spinach is squeezed DRY (as dry as possible). I do it by hand over a colander. You can add 1 Tbsp of milk or so if it is too thick. This is one of my favorite side dishes. Thank you Stephanie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
My family enjoyed this side dish. I actually doubled the amount of spinach called for and kept the rest of the ingredients the same, and added some light cream during cooking to thin it out some. It made enough for 2 meals, so I could freeze half of it for another meal. I sauteed the onion in the butter first to soften them, then added the flour and stirred it a bit to cook out the "floury" taste, and then added the soup, spinach and cream. Right before serving I added about 1/3 cup of Parmesean cheese. Quick and easy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
The only thing I changed on this was instead of using onions, I added a half a can of finely chopped water chestnuts to give it some texture. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Not that good to me: very bland compared to normal creamed spinach. I used fresh spinach and garlic (why wouldn't you?).tried "as is" and then added some italian seasoning and red pepper flakes in attept to fix. Still blah. Also~ canned soup is extremely salty! Don't add extra salt before tasting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States