Restaurant-Style Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This initially reminded me of the kind of thing my mother would have made me sit at the table staring at while my friends were all outside playing some twenty years ago. "EAT YOUR VEGGIES!" Now, it's quite good! As the restaurant owner said below...using canned soup is never a good thing, it's loaded with preservatives (sodium) and the recipe did taste rather salty to me. I think I'll keep this one around but won't make regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Very good, but it's more like a dip or a variation of creamed spinach. You really don't need butter and flour, the cream soup makes it thick enough. I ended up adding some milk to thin it out a bit. I also substituted with scallions and cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Small chef in small restaurant always looking for good side dishes. I usually shy from "soup' ingredients but follwed through with a few good changes. I began with half the butter in which I sauted 1 shallot, minced, and the 4 cloves of crushed garlic (fresh). I then added the 1 tbs of flour and let it cook slightly. I then added the can of soup, let it thicken and then thinned it a bit with 1/4 to 1/2 chicken stock. I the chopped 2 bags of baby spinach, about an inch or so thick and after the heat is off folded it gently into the sauce mixture. I did not let it cook. Placed it all in a 9X13 buttered dish - topped it with 1 cup Panko crumbs, seasoned with S&P and a little Olive oil. I baked it for 15-20 min just to bring it to heat and crisp the topping. Rave reviews...Please try it with the fresh spinach and you will never go back to frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This was a good recipe and very easy to make. It was a little bland at first, but I added some salt and pepper and it turned out to be a rather decent side dish. I was told to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelter Island, New York, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
My family enjoyed this side dish. I actually doubled the amount of spinach called for and kept the rest of the ingredients the same, and added some light cream during cooking to thin it out some. It made enough for 2 meals, so I could freeze half of it for another meal. I sauteed the onion in the butter first to soften them, then added the flour and stirred it a bit to cook out the "floury" taste, and then added the soup, spinach and cream. Right before serving I added about 1/3 cup of Parmesean cheese. Quick and easy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Another keeper!!! Followed recipe exactly and it was on the mark. I had put this in my shopping list so I did have Cream of Celery on hand and I wouldn't change that - I'm sure it gave the spinach more flavor than using Cream of Mushroom. I thawed my spinach very early in the day and three times during the day I put the spinach in a paper towel and squeezed out the water. It was a great consistancy when I was ready to cook it. Thanks sumbitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This side dish is deeelicious!! I saute the chopped onions in olive or butter for 5 minutes first. There is no need to add the flour or additional salt. Second of all, I used Campbell's cream of chicken/mushroom soup. Third of all, make sure your spinach is squeezed DRY (as dry as possible). I do it by hand over a colander. You can add 1 Tbsp of milk or so if it is too thick. This is one of my favorite side dishes. Thank you Stephanie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
The only thing I changed on this was instead of using onions, I added a half a can of finely chopped water chestnuts to give it some texture. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
All in all, I thought this quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States