Restaurant-Style Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I am not a celery fan but on a diet so I tried this. It was wonderful. I did add some finely chopped onions. Will be making this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Very bland had to add lots of garlic, and goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made this exactly as directed and it was really good... Very quick and easy, all the required ingredients I usually have on hand. Will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahm802

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I tweaked this recipe to suit what I had on-hand....Here's what I did in lieu of returning to the store I used both fresh as well as frozen spinach (b/c I did not have enough of either) total it was approx 16oz...I sauteed 1 center stalk of celery LEAVES included (wanted celery flavor but couldn't use canned soup) along with the onion, 2 T fresh minced garlic as well as 1/2 pkg fresh Baby bella mushrooms (cut in bite size pcs). I also sauteed both types of spinach w/this mixture. While I was cooking the moisture out I mixed the following b/c I don't use canned soups due to a special diet: 1/2c Sour Cream, 1/2c Roasted onion Greek Yogurt, and 1/2c Olive oil mayo...1 c shredded sharp cheddar cheese, 1/2 c shredded Parmesan cheese, 1/4 c Feta Cheese small crumbles (hubby and I LOVE cheese)...plus 1 beaten egg. No French's onion on-hand either so I toasted 1c of my own bread crumbs and added 1/4 c Parmesan cheese, 1t Fine Herbs, 1t Dried Shallots and 1/2t Garlic Powder Mixed in 1-2 pats of melted butter. When veggies were free of moisture I added these to the cream mixture along w/ approx 1 T dried Shallots. Salt and Peppered to taste...sprinkled w/bread crumbs and baked 25-30min @350...It was a lil tangy b/c of the Sour Cream and Greek Yogurt so next time I will omit 1 and so a lil more mayo! This is a keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Not that good to me: very bland compared to normal creamed spinach. I used fresh spinach and garlic (why wouldn't you?).tried "as is" and then added some italian seasoning and red pepper flakes in attept to fix. Still blah. Also~ canned soup is extremely salty! Don't add extra salt before tasting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was really easy and quite tasty. I made only a couple very minor adjustments. I sauteed the onion prior to adding the other ingredients, as I don't like the taste of raw onion, and I felt this was a little "thick" once completed, so I added about 1/2 can of evaporated milk and simmered until thick and creamy. Delicious! I'll definitely be pulling this one out again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniChristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Great dish. I used fresh baby spinach, added fresh mushrooms and garlic. I sauted the onions, musrooms and garlic before adding the soup, flour, and chopped spinach. I then added panko bread crumbs and baked for 20 minutes at 375, then topped with parmigiano cheese just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was an easy recipe. I think I made the error of not squeezing out the excess water from the frozen spinach and that caused it to be watery. I also, decided to saute the onions first for added flavor and I also added Parm. Cheese. I will try it again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Delicious and simply! My kind of EASY!!! I used fresh green onions from the garden and a teaspoon of chopped garlic. Also took others suggestion of using cream of mushroom soup. I sauteed the onion and garlic in 3 tblsp of butter, then added flour and about 1/2 cup of half n half, then soup. I also used a 16 oz. bag of frozen chopped spinach (thawed). Great flavor and supper quick side-dish! Perfect for any occasion! Thanks for recipe. It is keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe was a big hit for Easter dinner. I followed the chef's recipe and used fresh spinach - only I couldn't find panko breadcrumbs, so I used about 2 tblsp of breadcrumbs and 2 of parmesan cheese - a big hit. Spinach was a little watery, so I might cut back on the other liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States