Restaurant-Style Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I am not a celery fan but on a diet so I tried this. It was wonderful. I did add some finely chopped onions. Will be making this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Very bland had to add lots of garlic, and goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made this exactly as directed and it was really good... Very quick and easy, all the required ingredients I usually have on hand. Will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahm802

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I tweaked this recipe to suit what I had on-hand....Here's what I did in lieu of returning to the store I used both fresh as well as frozen spinach (b/c I did not have enough of either) total it was approx 16oz...I sauteed 1 center stalk of celery LEAVES included (wanted celery flavor but couldn't use canned soup) along with the onion, 2 T fresh minced garlic as well as 1/2 pkg fresh Baby bella mushrooms (cut in bite size pcs). I also sauteed both types of spinach w/this mixture. While I was cooking the moisture out I mixed the following b/c I don't use canned soups due to a special diet: 1/2c Sour Cream, 1/2c Roasted onion Greek Yogurt, and 1/2c Olive oil mayo...1 c shredded sharp cheddar cheese, 1/2 c shredded Parmesan cheese, 1/4 c Feta Cheese small crumbles (hubby and I LOVE cheese)...plus 1 beaten egg. No French's onion on-hand either so I toasted 1c of my own bread crumbs and added 1/4 c Parmesan cheese, 1t Fine Herbs, 1t Dried Shallots and 1/2t Garlic Powder Mixed in 1-2 pats of melted butter. When veggies were free of moisture I added these to the cream mixture along w/ approx 1 T dried Shallots. Salt and Peppered to taste...sprinkled w/bread crumbs and baked 25-30min @350...It was a lil tangy b/c of the Sour Cream and Greek Yogurt so next time I will omit 1 and so a lil more mayo! This is a keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Not that good to me: very bland compared to normal creamed spinach. I used fresh spinach and garlic (why wouldn't you?).tried "as is" and then added some italian seasoning and red pepper flakes in attept to fix. Still blah. Also~ canned soup is extremely salty! Don't add extra salt before tasting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was really easy and quite tasty. I made only a couple very minor adjustments. I sauteed the onion prior to adding the other ingredients, as I don't like the taste of raw onion, and I felt this was a little "thick" once completed, so I added about 1/2 can of evaporated milk and simmered until thick and creamy. Delicious! I'll definitely be pulling this one out again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniChristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Great dish. I used fresh baby spinach, added fresh mushrooms and garlic. I sauted the onions, musrooms and garlic before adding the soup, flour, and chopped spinach. I then added panko bread crumbs and baked for 20 minutes at 375, then topped with parmigiano cheese just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was an easy recipe. I think I made the error of not squeezing out the excess water from the frozen spinach and that caused it to be watery. I also, decided to saute the onions first for added flavor and I also added Parm. Cheese. I will try it again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Delicious and simply! My kind of EASY!!! I used fresh green onions from the garden and a teaspoon of chopped garlic. Also took others suggestion of using cream of mushroom soup. I sauteed the onion and garlic in 3 tblsp of butter, then added flour and about 1/2 cup of half n half, then soup. I also used a 16 oz. bag of frozen chopped spinach (thawed). Great flavor and supper quick side-dish! Perfect for any occasion! Thanks for recipe. It is keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe was a big hit for Easter dinner. I followed the chef's recipe and used fresh spinach - only I couldn't find panko breadcrumbs, so I used about 2 tblsp of breadcrumbs and 2 of parmesan cheese - a big hit. Spinach was a little watery, so I might cut back on the other liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States