Restaurant Style Sausage Gravy and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Definitely not any southern gravy I have ever had. We don't add mushroom soup to our gravy. You make great gravy with a roux of bacon or sausage grease, flour, salt and pepper and then add milk and water to make a really good gravy. This was ok but definitely not what I call good southern gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Just for the record, I made no claim that this was "Southern-Style". That was added by allrecipes.com. My claim was tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
No thanks....I'll stick with a flour milk mixture :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyMTeets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrill, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I AM southern and although I haven't used mushroom soup for sausage gravy, I fully intend to, I DO use it for a shortcut when making fried foods and rice or potatoes. Love it! For a change I use the mushroom with roasted garlic. All recipes are the taste of the the one preparing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Shirah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is an easy way to learn....Use spicy sausage...no extra water is really needed, at the least, just add half the water. It ended up a little runny with the full 2 cups of water.Quick to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Try using about a half a cup of milk instead of the water...it'll be too runny with that much water, and the milk will make it taste a little better. Also, use hot breakfast sausage and add plenty of black pepper. This isn't as good as the "real" recipe, but it's really not that bad for beginners or those who want to get breakfast on the table quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
excellent!!!! no changes were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I did not add the water called for in this recipe. I actually added about a half cup or so of evaporated milk I had leftover in my fridge from another recipe. I also added a good amount black pepper. My three boys INHALED this. No leftovers. NOTE: I actually figured out that with sales and price matching, this whole meal (if you count the large canteloupe we all shared as well) cost us 3.49 or 87 cents each person. This fed one very hungry husband, two very hungry growing boys and one mother for breakfast. Not going to complain about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
For my first attempt! He liked it...that's all that matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Spencer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Nice flavor and much easier to make than the flour and milk mixture. I chose this recipe because I wanted to make sausage gravy and biscuits but didn't have enough milk for both the gravy and the biscuits. So I hit AllRecipes ingredient search looking for a recipe that didn't call for milk. This fit the bill and turned out very tasty. I would agree with the comments that say to reduce the water as I had to cook it down quite a bit. All in all it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States