Restaurant Style Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This is very good, my son says better than Popeye's. I used dried red beans so the ham hock would cook throughly and left out the lard because my husband has heart disease
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This is terrific! If you like New Orleans red beans & rice, you'll love this. I couldn't bring myself to include the lard so just omitted it but I followed the rest of recipe and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Excellent. A friend visited me from Panama many years ago, and she gave me this recipe, almost to a T.I loved i then and I love it now...Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These are pretty good but could use a bit more spice. I used some shredded pork for the meat & made a pot of red beans, which were well seasoned. When you puree them in the food processor they resemble refried beans. I wasn't thrilled about adding lard to the whole batch so I pureed the beans as instructed and then just melted a bit of lard in a pan and refried a small portion. The rest I heated in a sauce pan. I don't think the lard added enough flavor to warrant the extra calories. With the plain rice this was pretty bland. I ended up stirring it all together, adding salsa and making bean and cheese burritos. The kids loved those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I used this as a base using actual onions and garlic vs powdered with a few addt'l spices. Other than cooking dry red beans vs using canned, I liked this recipe just fine. I use my own lard, it isn't all that difficult to make. I add liquid smoke (pecan) when I don't have a smoked meat handy but prefer using the ham hock. And - the recipe states to add salt to 'taste' so maybe taste b4 adding any. For me, I didn't need or use a food processor as you can mash some of the beans with the back of a large wooden spoon against side of the pot to thicken it up. Or use an old fashioned potato masher. The instructions to use a food processor is my only reason for 4 stars. Really not necessary. Thanks for the basic recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Followed the recipe w/o ham and used a lean pork which was shredded. Turned out amazing. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Definately good but a little salty so I made these changes: In step 1, I used two cans of undrained beans and 1 1/2 cups of water with a ham hock. I omitted the salt altogether and substituted the lard with olive oil. I did not blend the last can of beans, I drained two cans into mixture and heated. It was absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEED330

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Excellent all in all. Always good to see people who aren't afraid of good ol' fashioned lard. I read another review claiming this recipe was too salty. Probably because it uses canned beans. I use the dried. Furthermore, sea salt instead of the usual stuff has a milder flavour and lacks the bitterness of table salt. I played around with the recipe and added some beef scraps I had from making my beef shortening, it was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
This was very good, especially for someone like me who's not a meat eater and needs to find alternative protein sources. I didn't have any lard on hand so I used olive oil. Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
it needs to be more prompt w the directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States