Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe except for the oven temperature. After 30 min. I lowered the temp to 350 for 3 hours. I took the roast out, covered with foil and had to let it sit for 1 hour waiting for the rest of the food. The roast was delicious and perfect. The difference for me was the flour coating. It sealed in the juices and made the roast look great. There was a wonderful crisp coating to the edge of the meat. For an expensive cut of meat I was so nervous but it couldn't have been any better. Served with a wonderful horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Awesome recipe! I followed this exactly and it came out perfect! We had a 4.2 lb roast, we cooked it for a little over an hour and let it set for 45 minutes or so. We do not like it very rare and this came out perfect! As the original poster stated, this roast loses none of it's juices so there is nothing left for au jus. I used a store-bought packet and substituted 1/2 cup of the water for port wine. I also added a couple of tablespoons of fat from the roasting pan for added flavor. The au jus turned out fantastic. I will definitely be making this prime rib again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Our prime rib turned out perfectly following this recipe. I was leary of the 425 degrees, but after reading the reviews, decided to try it. Our roast was almost seven pounds and we cooked it 1 hour and forty minutes, or just about 15 minutes per lb.. We did use a meat thermometer and took it out when it got to 120 degrees. We let it rest for about 45 minutes wrapped in aluminum foil. It was a perfect medium rare, moist, and delicious. We have done prime rib for Christmas dinner every year with mixed results. We've rotisseried, in tthe hot oven then turned the oven off, and started hot and then lowered the temp. This one was wonderful and will be our preferred method of cooking from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
decided to try a new recipe to get a tastier crunch to the roast and try for something juicier than what I've managed to do in the past. Now I know..."low and slow is the way to go". The temp on this is waaaaay to high! Within an hour my kitchen and home was filled with smoke from the extreme heat which basically just dehydrated a beautiful piece of meat and it cooked way too fast and was well done in no time (I was trying for medium rare). Never again! Should have read ALL the comments - there were some that agreed with this and those are the ones I should have listened to. The rub was tasty - that's about all that is good about this recipe. Save your dinner and avoid this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was by far the best prime rib I have ever cooked. The only problem was I cooked it a little too long, otherwise it was fabulous. Thank you so much for sharing. Merry Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was my first prime rib. I was afraid of the hight temp for so long, being used to cooking beef low and slow, but it came out perfect! I didn't have celery seed, so used celery salt and the results were excellent. There were no left overs! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this according to the recipe except I was out of celery seed and paprika. The coating was very nice and did seal it. I cooked it at 425 degrees at 15 minutes per pound since the roast had been allowed to come to room temperature and it was a boneless roast. (In the review posted by the author, she quoted 15 min/lb.) Previously, I have used the method where I have started cooking at high temperature and then lowered it. I liked this method better. It did not take as long to bake and was still tender, juicy, and flavorful. I will use this cooking method in the future and may just try different seasonings in the coating as recommended by the original author.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
WATCH the TIME! My first time with prime rib. I had a 16lb prime roast. Brought it to room temp for 3 hours. I covered it with the exact seasonings listed adding chopped garlic. Covered it and roasted 15 min at 425, then reduced heat to 325 (using oven thermom) at the 3hr mark, I checked the roast with a thermometer and it was 150 already. too done for me. I let it set out tented for almost and hour because it was done too early. Rave reviews from guests but not what i like which is med rare. next time I will check at 2.5 hrs. good flavor and very tender, just too done for me.Update: roast uncovered. This years roast 13.5 lb took 1.5 hr to get to 120 deg...with additional .5 hr on counter tented with foil...perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was so good and tender. Thanks BarbaraC28 for this recipe!! I think you can add any extra seasonings that you like. I did cook it at 15 min/lb. The taste was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was delicious and easy!! My teenager, who isn't all that fond of prime rib, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States