Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Exceptional
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Loved this recipe ... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was so easy to make and it was WONDERFUL!! This was my first attempt at Prime Rib and everyone loved it! I had 2 smaller ribs (one 3.5 lbs and one 4 lbs), so I doubled the flour and seasonings to adequately cover both- I could have used just a single recipe- I really, really coated it (which was really sealed in the juices- only fat drippings in pan). This was so juicy and cooked to a perfect medium rare. I followed the advise of another reviewer and did 20 mins/ lb. and baked at 425. They didn't come all the way to room temp. before I coated and baked them (which I think added about 15 mins), and turned out very tasty. I served with the bacon wrapped asparagus and roasted red potatos (also from this site) and my version of a spinach strawberry salad. Will DEFINITELY make again. My husbands taste buds were in heaven at dinner tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sartell, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
The meat was cooked perfectly....Picked up a beautiful 5.6 pound Rib Eye Roast from Sams Club and cooked it uncovered on a wire rack for 20 minutes a pound. I took it out at an internal temperature of 130, wrapped in foil for 30 minutes, and it was perfect. My only suggestion is to add a really good steak seasoning to the flour instead of all the other stuff. I made the coating exactly per the directions and although it did keep the juices inside it was light on flavor for my taste. A healthy mix of a Chicago Steak Seasoning with salt and flour in the coating makes this a first rate Prime Rib for my taste. Thank you very much for sharing...Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pittstlrfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I was so excited to use this recipe.I made for Christmas Day.The crust looked so beautiful.I followed ccoking directions.I love medium rare prime rib.It was so disappointing as it was all cooked medium.This should be in the oven 1 hour less for medium rare.Live in learn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
After years of trying and failing at Prime Rib this was amazing!!! The meat was so tender, I left the bones on the roast so it took almost 2 hours to cook a 4 lb roast. After it sat for twenty minutes i could of taken it out of the over about 15 minutes earlier as i had no med rare meat. Didn't matter though. It was awesome, I added a small amount of water to the pan when the dripping started to smoke, and I basted the roast after that about twice. I tented in tinfoil and also wrapped a tea towel over the roast. I can't wait to make again and next time I am going to load the meat with garlic cloves first. Confidence building recipe...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
made this for xmas & it was pretty good. i had a 6lb boneless roast..i loved the flour/herb mix on the finished roast. i believe the heat may have been too high for my roast; it was tender and med-rare in the middle (as i wanted it), but the grain of the meat was visible and you could feel the texture as you chewed it. every good restaurant prime rib ive ever had was almost the consistency of room-temp butter. a great recipe but i need more trial and error w/ it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinupstuff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made a three rib roast this Christmas and this recipe was excellent. Will make it again in the future for sure. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was the first time I had ever made Prime Rib Roast... Excellent Recipe! Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this last night for our New Years Eve/Anniversary dinner and it was soooooooo yummy! I absolutely love the rub and it definitely seals in the juices! I have made these before with the roast already seasoned at the store and yes, the roast spits and sizzles and smokes while it cooks. It is messy! This recipe, however, did not do that! The flour coating locks all of the juice in so it does not end up all over the walls of your oven. Even better than that though is that the meat is soooooooo tender and juicy because the juice stays *inside* where it belongs. I even doubled the salt because I like its flavor. Fabulous recipe, thank you so much. Everybody likes their meat done to different levels of doneness so the person cooking it needs to decide how well done they will cook it. I like mine very rare so I cut down the cooking time. One person can NOT predict each person's pallet, so we need to take some of the responsibility in the cooking length. If you want to cook a prime rib that tastes as good as it looks, than you have found the perfect recipe right here. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States